Ad

This page contains affiliate links, marked "(Ad)". We earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Our rankings and verdicts are not affected. How we make money.

Best software for roofers in the UK

Quick answer

For most UK roofing firms of 1 to 10 people, Tradify is the best all-rounder (£34 to £44 per user a month), with progress invoicing for deposits and staged payments from Pro. Fergus suits roofers who order lots of materials. ServiceM8 is the cheapest for low-volume, high-value roofing because it charges by jobs, not users.

On this page
  1. What does a roofing business need from software?
  2. How do the main roofing tools compare?
  3. Which roofing software should you pick?
  4. What does roofing software cost? Two worked examples
  5. Which features matter most for roofers (and which can you skip)?
  6. What mistakes should you avoid when switching?
  7. FAQs

Roofing jobs are fewer, bigger and more weather-dependent than most trade work, so the software that suits a plumber is not always right for a roofer. We compared the UK options on measured quotes, materials, staged payments and cost, based on pricing pages checked on 12 October 2026 and published features.

What does a roofing business need from software?

Measured quotes from photos or satellite images

Every roof quote starts with a measurement. Some roofers climb, some use drones, and some buy satellite measurement reports. Your software needs to hold photos and drawings against the quote, and turn measurements into materials and labour fast. Saved kits (for example "re-roof per square metre, concrete tiles") save the most time.

Materials ordering

Tiles, slates, battens, membrane and lead are a big share of every job. Purchase orders tied to the job, and supplier invoices matched back to it, tell you whether you actually made money. This is where tools differ most.

Weather delays

A wet week shifts every job behind it. Drag-and-drop scheduling and quick customer texts ("we're pushing to Thursday") stop the phone ringing all day.

Deposits and staged payments

Few customers will pay for a £10,000 re-roof in one go at the end, and you should not fund the materials yourself. Progress invoicing lets you bill a deposit, then stages, against one quote.

Guarantees and handover documents

Customers expect a written guarantee, and some materials come with manufacturer warranties that need registering. Store the guarantee, photos and completion notes on the job so you can find them in five years when someone rings about a leak.

Working at height is a big safety risk. Some tools include hazard and safety forms (Fergus Pro lists hazards and safe work method statements; Powered Now includes risk assessments). Use them to record your method on every job, not just the big ones.

How do the main roofing tools compare?

Roofing software compared. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
ToolEntry priceStaged paymentsMaterials and ordersSafety formsAccounting
Tradify£34 per user a month (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page)Progress invoicing from Pro (£37)Kit bundles, price list imports; purchase orders on Plus (£44)Custom forms from ProXero, Sage, QuickBooks Online
Fergus£39 a month list price (90% off promo shown); VAT treatment not stated on the pricing pageJob phases on Pro (£45)Materials on jobs; purchase orders and supplier integrations on ProHazards and SWMS on ProXero, QuickBooks, MYOB
ServiceM8Free (30 jobs), then £25 a month (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page)Not confirmed on the pages we checkedSupplier invoice import and job costing add-onsPDF formsXero, QuickBooks
Powered Now£28 a month ex VAT (1 user)Not confirmed on the pages we checkedSupplier invoices and purchase orders on every planRisk assessments on Professional (£32)Xero, QuickBooks, MTD built in
Roofr$0 plus $19 per report, or $109 a month (USD)Payments are US-onlyMeasurement reports and proposalsNot checkedQuickBooks (US-only)

Which roofing software should you pick?

Best overall for small roofing teams

Tradify

From £34 per user per month

Tradify is our best overall pick for small UK trade teams, and its Pro plan covers what most roofers need: online quote acceptance, progress invoicing for deposits and stages, custom forms and timesheets. Kit bundles make quoting a standard re-roof quick. Purchase orders need Plus.

  • Progress invoicing from Pro for deposits and stages
  • Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan; London office
  • Trustpilot 4.8 from 610 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
  • Purchase orders only on Plus (£44 per user)
  • Per-user pricing adds up for bigger crews
  • Inventory is basic

Try Tradify free (Ad) Read our Tradify review

Best for materials, purchase orders and job costing

Fergus

From £39 a month list price

Fergus names roofers among its trades and is built around job costing: purchase orders and automatic supplier integrations on Pro, plus job phases for staged work. Fergus Pay takes card, direct debit and Clearpay, which helps customers spread a big roof bill. It has a UK office in Manchester.

  • Best materials control of the tools here
  • Hazards and safe work method statements on Pro
  • Monthly billing, no lock-in contracts
  • Small Trustpilot sample: 3.8 from 14 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
  • "90% off til December" promo with unclear terms
  • Whether the base price is per user is not stated

Read our Fergus review

Best value for low-volume, high-value roofing

ServiceM8

Free for 30 jobs a month, then from £25 a month

Roofers usually run fewer, bigger jobs, which is exactly where ServiceM8's job-count pricing shines. A five-person crew doing 40 jobs a month pays £25 on Starter, with unlimited users. The iPhone app adds 3D and AR measuring and in-camera photo tagging, though Android lacks these.

  • Unlimited users on paid plans
  • Photo tagging and measuring tools on iPhone
  • Capterra UK 4.5 from 311 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
  • Some key features are iPhone only
  • Job costing and supplier invoice import are add-ons
  • No Sage link

Try ServiceM8 free (Ad) Read our ServiceM8 review

Best UK-built budget option

Powered Now

From £28 a month ex VAT

Powered Now lists roofing as a trade and, unusually, includes supplier invoices and purchase orders on its cheapest plan. Professional (£32 per user ex VAT) adds forms, risk assessments, job routing and What3Words; Premium (£40) adds drawings and drag-and-drop scheduling for weather reshuffles. It is recognised by HMRC for MTD.

  • Purchase orders from £28 ex VAT
  • Trustpilot 4.7 from 564 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
  • App Store 4.1 from 243 ratings
  • Drag-and-drop scheduling needs Premium

Read our Powered Now review

Roof measuring (US-focused)

Roofr

From $0 plus $19 per report (USD)

Roofr is a dedicated roofing platform with satellite measurement reports and proposals. Its payments, QuickBooks link and financing are US-only, so we could not confirm it suits UK firms. At most, use the pay-per-report option alongside a UK job management tool.

See Roofr pricing

Also worth a look: YourTradebase (£29 a month plus £15 per extra user, ex VAT) for simple quoting and invoicing, and Jobber, which lists roofing among its industries but shows US dollar prices on its UK page. We could not confirm any UK-specific roofing estimating tool. If you also do extensions and general building, see our guide to software for builders.

What does roofing software cost? Two worked examples

Monthly cost for a sole roofer and a five-person firm. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
Tool and planSole rooferFive-person firm
ServiceM8£0 (up to 30 jobs)£25 (Starter, 50 jobs, unlimited users)
Powered Now£28 ex VAT (Business)£160 ex VAT (Professional, 5 x £32)
Tradify Pro£37£185 (5 x £37); £220 on Plus for purchase orders
Fergus£39 (Essentials) or £45 (Pro), list pricePer-user basis not stated; ask Fergus
YourTradebase£29 ex VAT£89 ex VAT (£29 + 4 x £15)

On a £10,000 re-roof with a 30% deposit, progress invoicing means £3,000 lands before the scaffold goes up. That cash flow benefit alone is worth more than the difference between any two tools above.

Our verdict

Most roofing firms of 1 to 10 people: Tradify. Heavy materials buyers who want every job costed: Fergus. Small crews doing fewer than 50 jobs a month: ServiceM8 Starter is hard to beat on price. Want purchase orders and MTD on a budget: Powered Now.

Which features matter most for roofers (and which can you skip)?

Worth paying for

  • Fast quotes with saved kits. Win the job while you are still on the drive.
  • Online quote acceptance. Customers sign at 9pm, not when you next call.
  • Progress invoicing. Deposits and stage payments protect your cash.
  • Photos on every job. Before, during and after, for disputes and guarantees.
  • Purchase orders and supplier invoices on the job. Essential once materials pass a few thousand pounds a month.

How a good roofing workflow looks in practice

Here is the flow we would set up in any of the tools above, based on their published features:

  1. Survey: take photos and measurements on the phone, saved straight to a new job.
  2. Quote: build it from a saved kit (tiles, battens, membrane, labour per square metre), add options such as new fascias, and send it before you leave.
  3. Accept: the customer accepts online, and the deposit invoice goes out automatically or with one tap.
  4. Order: raise a purchase order for materials against the job, so the materials cost is tracked against it.
  5. Build: schedule the crew, move the job if rain arrives, and log photos daily.
  6. Finish: issue the final invoice and attach the guarantee and completion photos to the job.

If a tool cannot handle steps 3 and 4 on the plan you can afford, keep looking.

Usually safe to skip

  • Gas and electrical certificates.
  • Recurring maintenance scheduling, unless you sell gutter clearing contracts.
  • Customer portals and AI extras, until the basics run smoothly.

For a broader comparison of quoting tools across trades, read our quote and invoice software guide.

What mistakes should you avoid when switching?

  1. Losing guarantee records. Export old jobs with their photos and guarantees before you cancel anything.
  2. Choosing on the iPhone demo when your crew uses Android. ServiceM8's measuring and full photo tagging are iPhone only.
  3. Trusting a promo price. Fergus showed £3.90 a month with an unclear end date. Budget for the £39 or £45 list price.
  4. Paying in dollars by accident. Roofr and Jobber show USD. Check what your card will be charged.
  5. Switching mid-summer. Roofing peaks in good weather. Move in winter when you have time to build your kits.

Weighing up general trade software? See our full ranking of UK job management software.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best software for roofers in the UK?

For small UK roofing firms, Tradify is our best all-rounder: quotes with online acceptance, progress invoicing, scheduling and Xero, Sage and QuickBooks links, from £34 per user a month. Fergus is stronger if you order a lot of materials, and ServiceM8 is cheapest for teams doing a modest number of high-value jobs.

Can roofing software measure a roof from satellite images?

Some US tools do. Roofr sells roof measurement reports from $19 each and plans from $109 a month, all in US dollars, and its payments, QuickBooks and financing features are US-only. We could not confirm a UK-specific satellite measuring tool. ServiceM8's iPhone app has 3D and AR measuring, which helps for rooms and small areas.

How do I take deposits and staged payments on roofing jobs?

Use software with progress invoicing. Tradify includes progress invoicing from its Pro plan (£37 per user). Fergus offers job phases on Pro, and Fergus Pay accepts card, direct debit and Clearpay. Agree the stages in the quote, such as deposit, materials delivered and completion, so each invoice matches what the customer signed.

How much does roofing software cost?

Based on pricing pages checked on 12 October 2026, a sole roofer can pay £0 to £45 a month. A five-person firm typically pays £25 to £220 a month. The cheapest option depends on whether you are charged per user (Tradify, Powered Now) or per job (ServiceM8).

Is there an app for roofing quotes?

Yes. Tradify, Fergus, Powered Now, ServiceM8 and YourTradebase all produce branded quotes on site from a phone or tablet. Tradify lets customers accept online from its Pro plan, and saved kits or price lists mean you can add a full set of materials to a quote in a few taps instead of typing each line.

Does Fergus work for roofers?

Yes. Fergus lists roofers among its trades and has a UK office in Manchester. Its Pro plan adds purchase orders, job phases, forms and automatic supplier integrations, which suit roofers who buy a lot of materials. Its list prices are £39 and £45 a month, with a 90% off promotion running until December whose exact terms are not stated.

Sources and checks

Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.

  1. Tradify UK pricing page
  2. Tradify on Trustpilot
  3. Fergus UK pricing page
  4. Fergus UK homepage
  5. Fergus on Trustpilot
  6. ServiceM8 UK pricing page
  7. ServiceM8 Android app limitations
  8. Powered Now pricing page
  9. Powered Now official information page
  10. Roofr pricing
  11. YourTradebase pricing
  12. Jobber: about and industries served