Ad

This page contains affiliate links, marked "(Ad)". We earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Our rankings and verdicts are not affected. How we make money.

Invoice Simple review (UK, 2026)

Quick answer

Invoice Simple is a phone app for estimates, invoices and receipts. In the UK App Store it costs £6.99 a month for up to 3 invoices, £14.99 for up to 10 and £19.99 for unlimited. It suits occasional invoicing, but tradespeople who schedule jobs or issue certificates need a job management app instead.

On this page
  1. Who should buy Invoice Simple, and who should not?
  2. Invoice Simple key facts
  3. What does Invoice Simple do well?
  4. Where does Invoice Simple fall short?
  5. How much does Invoice Simple cost?
  6. Invoice Simple features in detail
  7. What do users say about Invoice Simple?
  8. Who is Invoice Simple best for?
  9. Best alternatives to Invoice Simple
  10. FAQs

Invoice Simple is a popular phone app for invoices, estimates and receipts, with 29k ratings on the UK App Store. We compared its pricing, features and user reviews on 12 October 2026 to see whether it is enough for a trade business, or whether you will outgrow it.

Who should buy Invoice Simple, and who should not?

Our verdict

Buy Invoice Simple if you are a sole trader or side-hustler who sends fewer than 10 invoices a month and just wants tidy invoices, estimates and receipts from your phone. Skip it if you run a diary of jobs, have staff, issue certificates or want invoices to flow into Xero, Sage or QuickBooks. A trade job app such as Tradify, which starts at £34 per user per month, does all of that.

Invoice Simple is an invoicing app, not job management software. It has no scheduling, job sheets, timesheets or certificates that we could find. That is fine if you only need invoices. It becomes a problem when you need to run the work as well as bill for it.

Invoice Simple key facts

Invoice Simple at a glance. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
ItemDetail
UK priceUK App Store: Essentials £6.99, Plus £14.99, Premium £19.99 a month
Website priceUS dollars only: $6.99, $14.99 and $21.99 a month ("Prices are listed in USD and may vary by local currency")
Pricing basisPer account, limited by invoices per month (3, 10 or unlimited)
VATVAT treatment not stated
Annual discount"Go annual for 2 months free"
Free trial14 days, mentioned on the pricing page
ContractMonthly or annual subscription
AppsiPhone, iPad, Android and web
AccountingNo Xero, Sage or QuickBooks link found. Expense tracking and exportable reports
CertificatesNone
HQ and UK officeApp seller is Zenvoice Inc. HQ not stated. No UK office found

What does Invoice Simple do well?

Fast invoices from your phone

You add your logo and bank details once, then build invoices from saved customers and items. Invoices go out by email, text, WhatsApp or PDF. You get an alert when the customer opens the invoice and when it is paid, which takes the guesswork out of chasing.

Estimates that turn into invoices

Invoice Simple says an approved estimate becomes an invoice "in 1-click". For a decorator or handyman pricing small jobs, that saves retyping.

Receipts and expenses

It also makes receipts and tracks expenses, and the expense data can be exported as a summary report for your bookkeeper.

A big, happy app user base

The UK App Store listing scored 4.8 from 29k ratings on 12 October 2026, and Invoice Simple claims more than 500,000 small business owners use it. The app itself is clearly easy to use.

Where does Invoice Simple fall short?

  • Invoice caps. Essentials allows 3 invoices a month and Plus allows 10. A busy tradesperson will be on Premium almost straight away.
  • Dollar pricing on the website. The pricing page only shows US dollars. UK buyers have to check the App Store or checkout to see pounds.
  • No job management. No diary, scheduling, job sheets, photos per job, timesheets or staff tracking that we found.
  • No UK certificates. Electricians and gas engineers will need a separate certificate app.
  • No accounting sync found. You will retype invoices into Xero or QuickBooks, or export reports.
  • Pricing complaints. Trustpilot reviewers mention subscription changes, new usage limits and price rises. One reviewer said they now pay "£60 for 3 invoices per month".
  • US-first payments. ACH bank transfer and Venmo are US only. Stripe and PayPal are shown, but payment fees are not published.

How much does Invoice Simple cost?

We do not have a separate Invoice Simple pricing page, so here is the full breakdown.

Invoice Simple plans. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
PlanUK App Store (monthly)Website (USD, monthly / yearly)Invoices a monthAdds
Essentials£6.99$6.99 / $69.99Up to 3Online payments, read receipts, expense tracking
Plus£14.99$14.99 / $149.99Up to 10Photo attachments, your signature, reports, due date reminders
Premium£19.99$21.99 / $219.99UnlimitedClient signatures, deposits, premium templates, priority support

The App Store also lists older subscriptions (from £9.99 to £17.99), so existing users may be on different prices. Capterra UK shows a starting price of US$13.49, which matches none of the current plans. Trust the App Store or checkout price.

Worked example: a sole trader sending 15 invoices a month

You would need Premium at £19.99 a month, or £239.88 a year. For comparison, ServiceM8's free plan covers 30 jobs a month at £0, and Tradify Lite costs £34 a month (£408 a year) but adds scheduling, job sheets and Xero, Sage or QuickBooks sync. If you only send 2 or 3 invoices a month, our free UK invoice template may be all you need.

Invoice Simple features in detail

Invoices and estimates

Custom logo, saved customers and items, discounts, tax rates, photos (Plus) and signatures (Premium). Deposits are on Premium, which helps on bigger jobs where you want money up front.

Payments

Customers can pay online. The website shows Stripe, PayPal, Visa and Mastercard logos, plus QR code payments in the app. Ask about card fees before you switch payments on.

UK VAT

You can set a tax rate, but we found no mention of UK VAT on Invoice Simple's pages. GOV.UK says every invoice must include a unique number, your business name and address, the customer's details, a description, the supply date, the invoice date, the amounts, the VAT amount if applicable and the total. If you are VAT registered, double-check your VAT number appears. Our free invoice templates include a VAT version.

Limits compared with job management software

A job app runs the whole job: enquiry, quote, booking, job sheet, photos, certificate, invoice and payment, with the office and the van seeing the same thing. Invoice Simple covers only the quote, invoice and payment. See our guide to quote and invoice software for trades for apps that sit in between.

What do users say about Invoice Simple?

Invoice Simple third-party ratings, checked 12 Oct 2026
PlatformScoreReviewsChecked
App Store (GB)4.8 out of 529k ratings12 Oct 2026
Trustpilot3.9 out of 5390 reviews12 Oct 2026
Capterra UK3.7 out of 544 reviews12 Oct 2026
Google PlayNot checked (page would not load)n/a12 Oct 2026

The pattern is clear. People who rate the app in the store like how easy it is. People who write longer reviews on Trustpilot and Capterra are more critical, mostly about price changes, invoice limits and billing after cancelling. Trustpilot reviewers also praise the support team for quick replies.

Pros

  • Very quick to set up and use on a phone
  • Estimates convert to invoices in one tap
  • Read receipts and paid alerts
  • Low entry price (£6.99 a month on the UK App Store)

Cons

  • Only 3 or 10 invoices a month on the cheaper plans
  • Website prices in US dollars
  • No scheduling, job sheets or certificates
  • No accounting integration found
  • Trustpilot complaints about price changes

Who is Invoice Simple best for?

  • Part-time or side-business trades sending under 10 invoices a month: a good fit on Plus.
  • Full-time sole traders: it works on Premium, but a trade app at a similar price does much more. ServiceM8 is free for up to 30 jobs a month.
  • Teams of 2 or more: not a good fit. We found no staff scheduling or multi-user features.
  • Electricians, gas and heating engineers: not a good fit, as there are no certificates.

Best alternatives to Invoice Simple

Best overall for small teams

Tradify

From £34 per user per month

Quotes, invoices, scheduling and job sheets in one app, with Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan and UK certificates from the £37 Pro plan.

Try Tradify free (Ad) Read our Tradify review

Simple UK quoting and invoicing

YourTradebase

£29 a month, plus £15 per extra user (ex VAT)

A UK-built app for quotes, job sheets and invoices with automatic reminders, Xero and QuickBooks links, and a 30-day free trial.

Visit YourTradebase

Best for Making Tax Digital

Powered Now

From £28 a month ex VAT

Quotes, invoices and MTD built in on every plan, with certificates from the £32 Professional plan.

Read our Powered Now review

Thinking about the Joist app instead? Joist's pricing page shows Basics at $10, Pro at $17, Elite at $32 and Run at $70 a month in dollars, and its free plan has been withdrawn. We found no UK mention, so it has the same drawbacks as Invoice Simple for UK trades.

Frequently asked questions

How much is Invoice Simple per month in the UK?

Invoice Simple's own pricing page shows US dollars only ($6.99, $14.99 and $21.99 a month). The UK App Store lists Essentials Monthly at £6.99, Plus Monthly at £14.99 and Premium Monthly at £19.99, checked 12 October 2026. VAT treatment is not stated. Paying yearly gives two months free, according to the pricing page.

Is Invoice Simple worth it?

It is worth it if you send a handful of invoices a month and want something quick on your phone. Once you need more than 10 invoices a month you are on Premium at £19.99, and at that point a trade job app that also does scheduling, job sheets and Xero sync, such as Tradify at £34 per user, gives far more for the money.

Is Invoice Simple free?

Not really. Capterra UK says a free version is available, but the plans on Invoice Simple's own pricing page and the UK App Store are all paid. The pricing page mentions a 14-day free trial. If you only need a few invoices, our free Word and Excel invoice templates cost nothing.

Can Invoice Simple produce a UK VAT invoice?

The App Store listing says you can customise tax and discounts and add your business and bank details. We found no specific mention of UK VAT on the pages we checked. If you are VAT registered, check each invoice shows your VAT number, the VAT rate and the VAT amount before you send it.

What is the Joist app and is it better?

Joist is a US estimating and invoicing app for contractors, now part of EverPro. Its pricing page shows Basics at $10, Pro at $17, Elite at $32 and Run at $70 a month (dollars), and says its free plan is no longer available. We found no UK mention, so for UK trades it is no better a fit than Invoice Simple.

Does Invoice Simple work with Xero or QuickBooks?

We did not find a Xero or QuickBooks integration on the Invoice Simple pages we checked on 12 October 2026. It offers expense tracking and summary reports you can export. If you want invoices to flow into your accounts automatically, Tradify links to Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan.

Sources and checks

Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.

  1. Invoice Simple pricing page
  2. Invoice Simple homepage
  3. Invoice Simple on the App Store (GB)
  4. Invoice Simple on Capterra UK
  5. Invoice Simple on Trustpilot UK
  6. Joist pricing page
  7. GOV.UK: Invoices, what they must include
  8. Tradify UK pricing page
  9. ServiceM8 UK pricing page
  10. YourTradebase pricing page
  11. Powered Now pricing page