Ad

This page contains affiliate links, marked "(Ad)". We earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Our rankings and verdicts are not affected. How we make money.

Tooltime review (UK, 2026)

Quick answer

Tooltime is a German job management app launched in the UK in 2023. It costs £59 a month per office user plus £29 per field user, or £54 and £27 on the yearly plan, and both plans carry a 12-month term. Trustpilot UK rates it 2.1 from 36 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026). Most UK trades should pick Tradify instead.

On this page
  1. Who should buy Tooltime, and who should not?
  2. Tooltime key facts
  3. What does Tooltime do well?
  4. Where does Tooltime fall short?
  5. How much does Tooltime cost?
  6. Tooltime features in detail
  7. What do users say about Tooltime?
  8. Tooltime pros and cons
  9. Who is Tooltime best for?
  10. What are the best alternatives to Tooltime?
  11. FAQs

Tooltime is a German job management app for tradespeople that arrived in the UK in late 2023. It covers scheduling, quotes, invoices and photo job sheets. We compared its UK pricing page, published features and user reviews on 12 October 2026.

Who should buy Tooltime, and who should not?

Our verdict

Tooltime is a tidy app, but it is hard to recommend to most UK trades. A single office user costs £59 a month on the Monthly plan, both plans carry a 12-month term, we found no UK accounting integrations or certificates, and Trustpilot UK shows 2.1 from 36 reviews, with contract complaints. It may suit a small finishing-trade firm (decorators, tilers, joiners) with 2 to 5 field staff that values digital measurements and photo job sheets and is sure it will stay a year. Everyone else should start with Tradify, our best overall pick for small UK trade teams, which is month to month and links to Xero, Sage and QuickBooks.

Tooltime key facts

Tooltime at a glance. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
ItemDetail
UK priceMonthly plan: £59 per office user plus £29 per extra field user. Yearly plan: £54 and £27
Pricing basisPer user, split into office users (web and app) and field users (app only)
VATVAT treatment not stated on the pricing page
Free trial7 days, no card, no commitment
ContractBoth plans: "12 month term. Billed yearly"
SetupNo fee mentioned. Free data import
AppsiPhone (iOS 17 or later) and Android, plus web software for office users
AccountingNo UK integrations found (German site lists DATEV and Lexware)
CertificatesNone found
HQ and UK officeToolTime GmbH, Germany. No UK address or phone number on the UK site
SupportEmail and live chat, Monday to Friday, 7am to 4pm
Customers claimedOver 10,000 (UK site); over 20,000 (German site)

What does Tooltime do well?

All features on every plan

There are no feature tiers. Every user gets scheduling, quotes, invoices, text reminders, a materials and services catalogue, map view with route optimisation, time tracking, digital project folders and cloud storage.

Good on-site tools

The mobile job sheets take unlimited photos, voice input and customer signatures, and digital measurements are built in. Positive Trustpilot reviewers single out measurements, materials and photos on site as strengths. For decorators, tilers and flooring fitters who quote from measurements, that is useful.

Cheaper field users

Extra field users cost £29 a month (£27 on the Yearly plan), which is less than many per-user rivals charge for each person. Once you have one office user, adding van staff is reasonable.

Helpful onboarding

Trustpilot reviewers often praise the sales, onboarding and training staff, and free data import helps you move from spreadsheets or another app.

Where does Tooltime fall short?

  • 12-month term on both plans. Even the "Monthly" plan says "12 month term. Billed yearly". Several Trustpilot reviewers say they could not cancel early, and Tooltime's replies confirm the subscription is a fixed-term contract.
  • Expensive for one person. A sole trader needs an office user at £54 to £59 a month. Tradify Lite is £34 and YourTradebase £29.
  • No UK accounting links found. Xero, QuickBooks and Sage are not listed on the UK site. You may have to export invoice data by hand.
  • No certificates. Gas and electrical trades will need a separate certificate app.
  • Short trial. 7 days is half what Tradify and Powered Now give.
  • Poor Trustpilot score. 2.1 from 36 reviews, with more recent reviews negative.
  • No UK base. No UK address or phone number, and support stops at 4pm.

How much does Tooltime cost?

Tooltime's UK pricing page shows two plans. VAT treatment is not stated on the pricing page.

Tooltime UK plans. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
PlanOffice user (web and app)Extra field user (app only)Term
Monthly£59 a month£29 a month12 month term, billed yearly
Yearly£54 a month£27 a month12 month term, billed yearly

Worked examples

Tooltime vs rivals, cost per year. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
TeamTooltime Monthly planTooltime Yearly planTradify LiteYourTradebase
Sole trader (1 office user)£708£648£408£348
1 office + 2 field users£1,404£1,296£1,224£708

How we worked these out: Tooltime Monthly for three people is £59 plus 2 times £29, which is £117 a month or £1,404 a year. Tradify Lite is £34 per user (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page). YourTradebase is £29 a month plus £15 per extra user, ex VAT, paid monthly. Tooltime only gets close to rivals once you add several field users to one office user.

Before you sign: because both plans run for 12 months, you are committing to at least £648 for a single user. Use the full 7-day trial with real jobs, and ask Tooltime in writing what happens if you want to leave or reduce users.

Our quote and invoice software guide compares cheaper options if quoting and invoicing are your main needs.

Tooltime features in detail

Quotes and invoices

You build branded quotes and invoices from your own catalogue and wholesaler catalogues, track paid and unpaid invoices, send payment reminders and export invoice data. Without an accounting link, that export is how invoices reach your books.

Scheduling

Appointments update in real time between office and field, with a map view and route optimisation. Text reminders are included.

Office vs field users

Office users get the web software and the mobile app. Field users get the mobile app only. A typical set-up is one office user (the owner or admin) and the rest as field users.

Job sheets, photos and measurements

Mobile job sheets hold unlimited photos, voice notes and customer signatures, and produce PDF work slips. Digital measurements and time tracking are built in.

Contract terms

This is the part to read twice. Both plans show a 12-month term billed yearly, and Tooltime's own replies on Trustpilot say the subscription is a fixed-term contract.

What do users say about Tooltime?

These are third-party scores, not our own rating. We do not average them.

Tooltime third-party ratings, checked 12 Oct 2026
PlatformScoreReviewsChecked
Trustpilot UK2.1 out of 53612 Oct 2026
Capterra UK3.9 out of 531 (priced in euros, so probably the German product)12 Oct 2026
App Store (UK)4.0 out of 58 ratings12 Oct 2026
Google PlayNot confirmedn/aWe could not confirm a score

On Trustpilot, 55% of reviews were 5-star and 36% 1-star. Most positive reviews date from 2024, and more recent ones are negative. Praise centres on ease of use, the mobile app and friendly onboarding staff. Complaints centre on being tied into 12-month terms, cancellation requests being refused, payments continuing and features not matching what was sold. Trustpilot noted Tooltime had not replied to negative reviews recently.

Tooltime pros and cons

Pros

  • All features included for every user
  • Digital measurements, photos and voice notes on site
  • Field users from £27 a month (Yearly plan)
  • Free data import

Cons

  • 12-month term on both plans
  • £54 to £59 a month for a single office user
  • No UK accounting integrations or certificates found
  • Trustpilot UK 2.1 from 36 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
  • 7-day trial; no UK address or phone number

Who is Tooltime best for?

Tooltime fit by trade and team size
You are...FitWhy
Decorator, tiler or joiner, 1 office + 2 to 5 field staffFairMeasurements and photo job sheets suit you; field users are cheaper
Sole traderWeakOffice user price and 12-month term; Tradify Lite or YourTradebase cost less
Gas engineer or electricianWeakNo certificates found
Firm using Xero, QuickBooks or SageWeakNo UK accounting integrations listed

What are the best alternatives to Tooltime?

Best overall for small teams

Tradify

From £34 per user per month

Month to month with no contract, Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan, UK certificates from Pro and a London office. Trustpilot UK: 4.8 from 610 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).

  • No contract, 14-day free trial
  • Accounting links on every plan
  • Per-user pricing adds up for bigger teams

Try Tradify free (Ad) Read our Tradify review

Simple and cheap quoting

YourTradebase

£29 a month ex VAT, plus £15 per extra user

UK-made quoting, jobs and invoicing with Xero and QuickBooks links, a 30-day trial and no long-term contract. Trustpilot UK: 4.8 from 62 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).

Read our YourTradebase review

Best value for teams with many people

ServiceM8

Free for 30 jobs a month, then from £25 a month

Priced by jobs, not users, with unlimited users on paid plans. Good if you have several field staff but a modest number of jobs.

Read our ServiceM8 review

Our guide to the best job management software for UK trades ranks all the main options.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Tooltime cost per month in the UK?

Tooltime's UK pricing page shows £59 a month per office user plus £29 a month for each extra field user on the Monthly plan, or £54 and £27 on the Yearly plan. Both plans say '12 month term. Billed yearly'. VAT treatment is not stated on the pricing page. A sole trader pays at least £648 a year.

Is Tooltime worth it?

For most UK trades, no. The office user price is high for a sole trader, both plans tie you into a 12-month term, we found no UK accounting integrations or certificates, and Trustpilot UK shows 2.1 from 36 reviews. It may suit a small finishing-trade firm that values digital measurements and photo job sheets and is happy to commit for a year.

Can I cancel Tooltime?

Tooltime's pricing page says both the Monthly and Yearly plans have a 12-month term, billed yearly. Its replies to negative Trustpilot reviews say the subscription is a fixed-term contract set out before purchase, and several reviewers say they could not cancel early. Use the 7-day free trial fully and read the terms before you subscribe.

Does Tooltime work with Xero or QuickBooks?

We found no accounting integrations on Tooltime's UK pages. The German site lists DATEV and Lexware, which are German products. One Trustpilot reviewer mentioned a Xero integration that did not work for them, but Tooltime does not list Xero or QuickBooks on its UK site, so treat that as unconfirmed.

Who owns Tooltime?

Tooltime is made by ToolTime GmbH, a German company. Capterra UK says it was founded in 2019, and ITBrief reports the product launched in Germany in 2018 and in the UK in November 2023. The UK site claims over 10,000 customers, and the German site over 20,000.

Does Tooltime have a free trial?

Yes. Tooltime offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card and no commitment, and free import of your existing data. That is shorter than most rivals: Tradify and Powered Now offer 14 days and YourTradebase 30 days, so plan your testing before you start.

Sources and checks

Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.

  1. Tooltime UK pricing page
  2. Tooltime UK homepage
  3. Tooltime German homepage
  4. ITBrief: Tooltime launches UK job management software
  5. Tooltime on Trustpilot UK
  6. Tooltime on Capterra UK
  7. Tooltime on the App Store (GB)
  8. Tradify UK pricing page
  9. Tradify on Trustpilot UK
  10. YourTradebase pricing page
  11. ServiceM8 UK pricing page
  12. Powered Now pricing page