Best ServiceM8 alternatives for UK trades (2026)
Quick answer
The best ServiceM8 alternative for most small UK trade teams is Tradify (£34 to £44 per user per month), which adds named UK certificates and a Sage link. Powered Now (£28 to £40 ex VAT) suits budget certificate and Making Tax Digital needs, Fergus suits job costing, and Commusoft suits heating firms with 6+ staff.
On this page
ServiceM8 is a good app with a smart pricing model, but it is not the right fit for every UK trade business. We compared six alternatives on price, UK certificates, accounting links and team size, using the vendors' pricing pages as we found them on 12 October 2026.
Why do people look for an alternative to ServiceM8?
ServiceM8 charges by the number of jobs you do each month, not by the number of people. That is brilliant for some firms and painful for others. Here are the common reasons, based on the published features and pricing.
1. Costs rise fast with job volume
The Free plan covers 30 jobs a month for one user. After that it is £25 for 50 jobs, £59 for 150, £119 for 500 and £269 for 1,500 or more. If you do lots of small, quick jobs (a handyman, a locksmith, a drain unblocker), you can hit the next band well before your income justifies it. A sole trader doing 60 small jobs a month already pays £59.
2. Certificates are generic
ServiceM8 says it can "produce PDF forms, certificates and reports". We could not find named UK certificates such as an EICR (electrical installation condition report) or a CP12 (landlord gas safety record) on its pages. If you issue those every week, a tool with ready-made UK forms saves real time.
3. No Sage link
ServiceM8 links to Xero and QuickBooks. Capterra lists MYOB too, but not Sage. If your accountant runs your books in Sage, that is a problem.
4. Android has gaps
ServiceM8's help centre says Android "supports most of the same workflows", but room scan and 3D measuring, drawing diagrams, editing PDFs from attachments, full in-camera photo tagging and first-time Tap to Pay activation are still missing on Android.
For the full picture of what ServiceM8 does well, see our ServiceM8 review.
How do the ServiceM8 alternatives compare?
| App | Entry price | Pricing basis | Named UK certificates | Accounting links | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 (for reference) | £0 (30 jobs), then £25 a month | Per account, by jobs; unlimited users on paid plans | Generic PDF forms | Xero, QuickBooks | Many people, few jobs |
| Tradify | £34 per user a month | Per user | Yes, from Pro (£37) | Xero, Sage, QuickBooks | Small UK teams (1 to 10) |
| Powered Now | £28 a month ex VAT (1 user) | Per user | Yes, from Professional (£32) | Xero, QuickBooks, MTD built in | Certificates and MTD on a budget |
| Fergus | From £39 a month | Not stated | EICR and gas certificates stored | Xero, QuickBooks | Job costing, purchase orders |
| YourTradebase | £29 a month ex VAT, +£15 per extra user | Base plus per user | Not listed | Xero, QuickBooks | Simple quoting for small firms |
| Commusoft | Quote only (Capterra UK: from £59 per user) | Per user, 12-month contract | Yes ("digitised certificates") | Xero, Sage 50, FreeAgent | Heating firms with 6+ staff |
| Jobber | USD only: Core $49 a month | Plan with user tiers | Not found | QuickBooks, Xero (one-way) | Cleaning, gardening, domestic services |
VAT: Powered Now, YourTradebase and Commusoft say their prices exclude VAT. For ServiceM8, Tradify and Fergus, VAT treatment is not stated on the pricing page.
Which ServiceM8 alternative suits you?
Best overall for small UK teams
Tradify
From £34 per user per month (Lite); Pro £37; Plus £44
Tradify is the switch we would make if certificates or Sage are your reason for leaving. Its Pro plan adds compliance certificates, and Tradify's UK homepage names EICRs and oil and gas safety records. Xero, Sage and QuickBooks Online work on every plan, and there is a London office. Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 610 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).
- Named UK electrical and gas certificates from Pro
- Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on all plans
- Month-to-month billing, 14-day free trial
- Per-user pricing adds up for larger teams
- Basic inventory
- AI features only on Plus
Pick Tradify if you have 1 to 10 people and do plenty of jobs each. Skip it if you have a large crew of labourers who barely touch the app, because you pay for every login. Our Tradify vs ServiceM8 comparison runs the numbers side by side.
Best for certificates and MTD on a budget
Powered Now
From £28 per month ex VAT (Business, 1 user); Professional £32 per user; Premium £40 per user
Powered Now is a UK company with nearly 100 trade forms, including gas safety and electrical certificates, on the Professional plan. It is recognised by HMRC for Making Tax Digital (MTD) for VAT and for Income Tax, and it has Windows and Mac apps as well as phone apps. Paying yearly gives two months free.
- Nearly 100 trade forms with annual reminders
- MTD for VAT and Income Tax built in
- Clear ex VAT pricing
- Certificates need Professional, not Business
- App Store (GB) 4.1 from 243 ratings, checked 12 Oct 2026
Pick Powered Now if you are a sole trader or small firm that wants certificates and tax filing in one place. Skip it if your team relies on the phone app above all, given its lower App Store score.
Best for job costing and purchase orders
Fergus
From £39 per month (Essentials); Pro £45
Fergus suits plumbers and builders who need to know if each job made money. It shows what each job cost against what was charged, offers purchase orders on Pro and has a Manchester office. EICRs and gas safety certificates are stored with the job, and Fergus says "certificates are free".
- Strong job costing and price books
- Purchase orders and supplier links on Pro
- No lock-in contract
- Trustpilot 3.8 from only 14 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- A "90% off til December" promo with unclear terms
- Not stated whether the base price is per user
Simple UK option for small firms
YourTradebase
£29 per month ex VAT, plus £15 per extra user
YourTradebase is a small UK product focused on quotes, job sheets, invoices and reminders, with Xero and QuickBooks links. It has a 30-day free trial with no card, and Capterra UK shows 4.9 from 59 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026). We did not find named certificates on its pages.
- Simple, predictable price
- Longest free trial here (30 days)
- No named UK certificates found
- Small review base
Best for heating firms with 6+ staff
Commusoft
Quote only (Capterra UK lists from £59 per user); 12-month contract; ex VAT
Commusoft is a London company built for plumbing and heating firms with 6 or more staff. It covers dispatch, service contracts, a customer portal, digitised certificates and stock control. It is a bigger commitment than ServiceM8: a 12-month contract and onboarding that Commusoft calls "essential, not optional".
- Built for UK heating and plumbing
- Capterra UK 4.7 from 212 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- No published prices
- Not designed for teams under 6
Strong for domestic services, US-centric
Jobber
UK page showed US dollars: Core $49 a month (no commitment)
Jobber is an excellent product, but its UK pricing page showed US dollars when we checked, we found no UK certificates, its Xero sync is one-way and it has no UK office we could find. It still shines for cleaners, gardeners and other domestic services where certificates do not matter.
- Polished booking and quoting
- Capterra UK 4.6 from 1,487 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- USD pricing on the UK page
- No UK certificates found
Worked example: when does switching save money?
| Firm | ServiceM8 | Tradify Pro | Powered Now Professional |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sole trader, 40 jobs a month | £25 (Starter) | £37 | £32 ex VAT |
| Sole trader, 120 jobs a month | £59 (Growing) | £37 | £32 ex VAT |
| 6 people, 140 jobs a month | £59 (Growing) | £222 | £192 ex VAT |
Our verdict
If you are busy on your own or with one helper, Tradify or Powered Now will usually cost less than ServiceM8 and add proper UK certificates. If you run a bigger team with a modest job count, ServiceM8 is still the value pick, so stay put unless certificates or Sage force the move.
Try ServiceM8's free plan (Ad)
When should you stay with ServiceM8?
Stay if you run a team of several people, do fewer than 150 jobs a month, use iPhones, and keep your books in Xero or QuickBooks. In that case ServiceM8's £59 Growing plan covers everyone, and no per-user app comes close on price.
How do you switch from ServiceM8 without losing data?
Switching job software is mostly about timing and exports. Use this checklist.
- Start a free trial first. Tradify, Fergus and Powered Now offer 14 days and YourTradebase 30 days. Run one real week of jobs in the new app before you cancel anything.
- Export customers and sites. Take a full export of your client list with addresses, phone numbers and emails.
- Export your price list. Materials, labour rates and kits are the slowest thing to rebuild by hand.
- Save PDFs of past documents. Download copies of invoices, quotes, job sheets and any certificates you may need to show a landlord or customer later.
- Finish or move open jobs. Pick a cut-over date. New jobs go in the new app; old jobs finish in ServiceM8.
- Reconnect your accounts package. Your history in Xero or QuickBooks stays put. Disconnect ServiceM8 and connect the new app, then check for duplicate contacts.
- Tell your team and customers. Update payment links and any online booking page you share with customers.
- Cancel last. Only cancel ServiceM8 when the new app has handled a full billing cycle.
Tip: if you hold gas safety records for landlords, the HSE says records must be kept for at least 2 years. Make sure old certificates are saved somewhere you control before you close any account.
Frequently asked questions
What is better than ServiceM8?
No single app is better for everyone. Tradify is the better pick for small UK teams that need named certificates such as EICRs and gas safety records, plus Sage. Powered Now is better for Making Tax Digital on a budget. ServiceM8 stays the better pick for big teams with few jobs, because its paid plans include unlimited users.
Is ServiceM8 any good?
Yes, for the right business. It has a free plan with 30 jobs a month, paid plans from £25 a month with unlimited users, and ratings such as Capterra UK 4.5 from 311 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026). It is weaker for UK certificates, has no Sage link we could find, and gets pricey for high job volumes.
How much does ServiceM8 cost per month in the UK?
ServiceM8's UK pricing page lists Free (£0, 30 jobs), Starter £25 (50 jobs), Growing £59 (150 jobs), Premium £119 (500 jobs) and Premium Plus £269 (1,500+ jobs) a month. Paid plans include unlimited users. VAT treatment is not stated on the pricing page. We checked on 12 October 2026.
Is there a cheaper alternative to ServiceM8?
It depends on your job count and team size. A sole trader doing more than 50 jobs a month pays £59 on ServiceM8, against £28 ex VAT on Powered Now Business or £29 ex VAT on YourTradebase. A five-person team doing 40 jobs a month pays only £25 on ServiceM8, which is hard to beat.
Can I move my data from ServiceM8 to another app?
Yes. Export your customer list, price list and open jobs before you cancel, and keep PDF copies of past invoices and certificates. If your accounts are in Xero or QuickBooks, your financial history stays there, so you mainly need to move customers, prices and live jobs.
Does ServiceM8 work well on Android?
Mostly. ServiceM8's help centre says the Android app supports most of the same workflows as iOS. Missing on Android are room scan and 3D measuring, drawing diagrams, editing PDFs from attachment previews, full in-camera photo tagging and first-time Tap to Pay activation.
Sources and checks
Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
- ServiceM8 UK pricing page
- ServiceM8 help centre: Android app
- ServiceM8 on Capterra (integrations)
- ServiceM8 on Capterra UK
- Tradify UK pricing page
- Tradify UK homepage (certificates)
- Tradify on Trustpilot
- Powered Now pricing page
- Powered Now official information page
- Fergus UK pricing page
- YourTradebase pricing page
- Jobber UK pricing page
- Commusoft pricing page
- Commusoft on Capterra UK
- HSE: landlord gas safety record