Best quote and invoice software for UK tradespeople
Quick answer
For most UK tradespeople the best quote and invoice software is Tradify (£34 to £44 per user per month), with price lists, online quote acceptance and Xero, Sage and QuickBooks links. Powered Now (£28 to £40 ex VAT) is best for Making Tax Digital, and ServiceM8's free plan (30 jobs a month) is the best free option.
On this page
- Why is trade quoting different from office quoting?
- How do the quote and invoice apps compare?
- Tradify: best all-round quoting for small teams
- Powered Now: best for Making Tax Digital
- YourTradebase: simplest for small firms
- ServiceM8: best free plan
- Fergus: best for materials-heavy quotes
- Are Xero, QuickBooks or Sage enough on their own?
- What free options are there, and what are the limits?
- How do you write a trade quote that wins?
- What do VAT and Making Tax Digital mean for your invoices?
- FAQs
Most "best quoting software" lists are written for agencies and consultants. This one is only for UK trades: plumbers, electricians, builders, gas engineers and handymen who price materials, labour and markup, often from a van. We compared the main options on the vendors' own pricing pages, checked on 12 October 2026.
Why is trade quoting different from office quoting?
An agency quote is a few lines of hours. A trade quote is a mix of things that change every job:
- Materials at cost plus markup. You buy a cylinder at trade price and add your margin. Good software stores your price list and applies the markup for you.
- Labour by the hour or the day. Often with different rates for you, an apprentice and a subcontractor.
- Options. "Good, better, best" (a standard boiler or a premium one) lets the customer choose without a second visit.
- Staged payments. A deposit, a mid-job payment and a final invoice on a bigger job. Software calls this progress invoicing.
- Photos and site notes. Proof of what you saw, attached to the job.
- Fast acceptance. A customer who can click "accept" on their phone tonight is less likely to ring another trader tomorrow.
General invoicing tools (and agency quoting tools) handle the paperwork but miss price lists, job sheets and certificates. That is why we focus on trade job apps here, with accounting apps covered further down. If you also want to track leads and follow up enquiries, see our guide to CRM for trades.
How do the quote and invoice apps compare?
| App | Entry price | VAT | Price lists and markup | Online acceptance and reminders | Card payments | Accounting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tradify | £34 per user a month | Not stated | Price-list imports, kit bundles | From Pro (£37) | All plans | Xero, Sage, QuickBooks |
| Powered Now | £28 a month (1 user) | Excluded | Quotes and estimates; supplier invoices and purchase orders | Auto chasing on Premium (£40) | Payment links; SumUp on site | Xero, QuickBooks (Professional+); MTD built in |
| YourTradebase | £29 a month + £15 per extra user | Excluded | Quotes with lead tracking | Automatic invoice reminders | Yes | Xero, QuickBooks |
| ServiceM8 | Free (30 jobs), then £25 a month | Not stated | Markup Billing and Job Costing add-ons | On-site quoting | Tap to Pay, online | Xero, QuickBooks |
| Fergus | From £39 a month | Not stated | Price books; tiered pricing on Pro | Not checked | Fergus Pay, 1.6% + 20p | Xero, QuickBooks |
| ToolTime | £59 per office user a month | Not stated | Branded quotes; digital measurements | Not checked | Not checked | No UK link found |
Per user or per job: which pricing suits you?
Quote apps charge in one of three ways, and the right one depends on how many people and how many jobs you have.
| Business | Tradify Pro (per user) | ServiceM8 (per job band) | YourTradebase (flat + per user) | Powered Now Professional (per user) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sole trader, 40 jobs a month | £37 | £25 (Starter) | £29 ex VAT | £32 ex VAT |
| Sole trader, 100 jobs a month | £37 | £59 (Growing) | £29 ex VAT | £32 ex VAT |
| 4 people, 120 jobs a month | £148 | £59 (Growing) | £74 ex VAT | £128 ex VAT |
The rule of thumb: lots of jobs per person favours per-user or flat pricing; lots of people with fewer jobs favours ServiceM8. Then weigh features: Tradify and Powered Now include UK certificates on these plans, while ServiceM8 and YourTradebase do not have named UK certificates.
Which features actually win jobs?
- Online acceptance: the customer taps "accept" and the job lands in your diary. Tradify has this from Pro.
- Automatic follow-ups: a reminder a few days after the quote goes out. Powered Now Premium chases quotes and invoices automatically; Jobber's Connect plan has quote follow-ups, though priced in US dollars.
- Options on one quote: Jobber Grow has optional line items and Commusoft offers multi-option proposals.
- Text-message delivery: many customers open a text faster than an email. Tradify charges £0.10 per text message; ServiceM8 includes a monthly text allowance on paid plans and charges 5p for extras.
- Branded, professional layout: your logo, clear totals and terms. Every app here does this.
Tradify: best all-round quoting for small teams
Best overall for small UK trade teams
Tradify
Lite £34, Pro £37, Plus £44 per user per month
Tradify does quoting and invoicing on every plan, with price-list imports and kit bundles so you can drop a "bathroom first fix" kit into a quote in one tap. Pro adds online quote acceptance, progress invoicing for staged payments and automatic payment reminders. Plus adds bulk invoicing. Online and card payments work on all plans.
- Xero, Sage and QuickBooks Online on every plan
- Text-message quotes and invoices at £0.10 per message
- Trustpilot 4.8 from 610 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- Online acceptance and reminders need Pro
- Per-user pricing adds up for bigger teams
Pick Tradify Pro if you want quotes, certificates and staged invoices in one app. Lite is enough if you only need quotes, invoices and a diary.
Powered Now: best for Making Tax Digital
Best for certificates and MTD on a budget
Powered Now
Business £28 (1 user), Professional £32 per user, Premium £40 per user a month, ex VAT
Powered Now is UK-built, and even the Business plan includes quotes and estimates, invoices with payment links, supplier invoices, purchase orders and Making Tax Digital. Professional adds certificates, VAT return submission and Xero or QuickBooks. Premium adds automatic invoice and quote chasing, a customer portal and AI text writing.
- HMRC-recognised for MTD for VAT and Income Tax
- Two months free on annual billing
- Trustpilot 4.7 from 564 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- Automatic chasing only on Premium
- App Store (GB) 4.1 from 243 ratings (checked 12 Oct 2026)
YourTradebase: simplest for small firms
Best simple option
YourTradebase
£29 a month ex VAT, plus £15 per extra user
YourTradebase covers quotes, lead tracking, scheduling, job sheets and invoicing with automatic reminders and card payments, and links to Xero and QuickBooks. It is aimed at builders, electricians, plumbers, landscapers, carpenters and decorators. The 30-day trial needs no card. Capterra UK shows 4.9 from 59 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).
- Cheap extra users
- No contracts; 2 months free yearly
- No certificates found
- Small review base
Builders who quote larger projects should also read our builders software guide.
ServiceM8: best free plan
Best value and best free plan
ServiceM8
Free (30 jobs); Starter £25 (50 jobs); Growing £59 (150 jobs); Premium £119; Premium Plus £269 a month
ServiceM8 lets you quote and invoice on site and take payment with Tap to Pay. Markup billing, job costing and supplier invoice import come as add-ons. Paid plans include unlimited users, so it is cheap for teams that do fewer, bigger jobs.
- Free plan for 1 user and 30 jobs
- Capterra UK 4.5 from 311 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- No Sage link found
- Job-based pricing climbs fast for lots of small jobs
Fergus: best for materials-heavy quotes
Best for job costing
Fergus
Essentials from £39 a month; Pro from £45 (a "90% off til December" offer was showing)
Fergus suits plumbers and builders whose quotes are mostly materials. Price books come on both plans; Pro adds tiered pricing, purchase orders and automatic supplier integrations, and Fergus uses AI to read supplier invoices from email. That makes it easier to check that what you quoted matches what you spent.
- Strong materials tracking
- Many payment options (card, direct debit, Clearpay, Apple Pay)
- Trustpilot 3.8 from 14 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- Unclear promo terms
What about ToolTime and the rest?
ToolTime offers branded quotes and invoices, speech-to-text job sheets and digital measurements. Its UK monthly plan is £59 per office user plus £29 per extra field user, with a 7-day trial. We found no UK accounting link, and Trustpilot UK shows 2.1 from 36 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026), so we rank it below the others. General tools such as Square and Zoho also send invoices, but they are not built around trade price lists or job sheets, and we have not priced them here.
Are Xero, QuickBooks or Sage enough on their own?
All three accounting apps can create quotes and invoices. For a sole trader doing a few large jobs a month, that can be all you need.
| App | Starter price | VAT | Intro offer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero Ignite | £18 a month | Excluded | 90% off for 6 months for new UK customers |
| QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus / Simple Start | £10 / £16 a month | Not stated | Third-party figures; not confirmed on Intuit's own page |
| Sage Accounting Start | £20 a month | Plus VAT | 90% off for 6 months |
They are enough if: you work alone, do fewer than about 10 jobs a month, and do not need certificates, job sheets or a shared diary.
Add a job app when: you take on staff, quote from site, need customers to accept online, or issue certificates. The job app then sends invoices to your accounts package automatically. Our accounting software for tradesmen guide shows which job apps link to which package.
What free options are there, and what are the limits?
| Option | What is free | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 Free | 1 user, 30 jobs a month | No text messages; next plan is £25 a month for 50 jobs |
| YourTradebase free account | Limited use after the 30-day trial | Usage limits apply |
| FreeAgent | Free with a NatWest, RBS or Ulster Bank business account; Mettle with at least one transaction a month | An accounting app, not a job app; add-ons may cost extra |
| Free trials | Tradify, Powered Now, Fergus and ServiceM8: 14 days | Trials end; plan your data before they do |
A spreadsheet or Word template is also free, but it will not chase late payers, store your price list or link to your accounts. For most trades, the time saved on chasing one late invoice pays for a month of software.
How do you write a trade quote that wins?
Customers often compare more than one quote. The clearest one often wins, not only the cheapest. Here is a layout that works, with example figures for an imaginary job (they are illustrations, not market rates).
| Line | Detail | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Header | Your business name, address, phone, quote number, date and "valid for 30 days" | |
| Customer and site | Name, site address, short summary of the job | |
| Option A: standard tap | Tap and fittings (materials with markup) | £85 |
| Option B: premium tap | Upgraded tap and fittings | £160 |
| Labour | Remove old tap, fit new tap and isolation valve, test | £120 |
| Total (Option A) | Excluding VAT, if you are VAT-registered | £205 |
| Terms | Payment due on completion; card or bank transfer; what is not included | |
| Accept | Online "accept" button or signature line |
- Lead with the outcome, not the parts list: "Replace kitchen tap and add isolation valve."
- Offer two or three options. It turns "yes or no" into "which one".
- Say what is not included (making good, decorating, skip hire) to avoid arguments later.
- State VAT clearly. "£205 plus VAT" and "£205 including VAT" are very different numbers to a homeowner.
- Add a validity date so you are not held to old material prices.
- Send it the same day, by text or email with an accept button.
- Follow up after 3 days. Software with automatic reminders does this for you.
Our verdict
For most small UK trade teams, Tradify Pro gives the best mix of fast quotes, online acceptance, staged invoices and accounting links. Choose Powered Now if MTD filing matters most, ServiceM8 if you want to start free, and Fergus if your quotes are mostly materials.
How should you handle deposits and staged payments?
On anything bigger than a day's work, ask for money up front for materials and then in stages. It protects your cash flow and filters out customers who were never going to pay.
- Put the payment schedule on the quote, for example a deposit on acceptance, a stage payment at first fix and the balance on completion.
- Use progress invoicing so each stage invoice comes off the same quote and the total always adds up. Tradify includes progress invoicing from Pro.
- Send a payment link with every invoice. Tradify, Powered Now and YourTradebase all support online or card payments, and Fergus Pay adds direct debit and Clearpay.
- Turn on automatic reminders so you never have to make the awkward phone call yourself. Tradify includes them from Pro, YourTradebase on its standard plan and Powered Now on Premium.
Common quoting mistakes
- Quoting from memory instead of a price list, then forgetting the fixings, sealant and waste disposal.
- Not marking up materials, so you work for free on the parts.
- Leaving VAT unclear on a quote to a homeowner.
- No validity date, so a customer comes back six months later expecting the old price.
- Not following up. A quote with no reply is not a "no" until you have asked.
What do VAT and Making Tax Digital mean for your invoices?
What every invoice needs. GOV.UK lists: a unique invoice number; your business name, address and contact details; the customer's name and address; a clear description of the work; the date of supply; the invoice date; the amounts charged; VAT if applicable; and the total owed. Sole traders must also show their own name and any trading name. Any decent trade app fills these in for you.
VAT registration. You must register once your taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000. If you and your customer are both VAT-registered, you must issue a VAT invoice, which carries extra detail.
Making Tax Digital for VAT. VAT-registered businesses must keep digital records and file VAT returns using MTD-compatible software. Powered Now does this inside the app (Professional and up). Xero, Sage, QuickBooks and FreeAgent do it from the accounting side.
Making Tax Digital for Income Tax. If you are a sole trader or landlord, GOV.UK says you must use MTD for Income Tax if your qualifying income is:
| Qualifying income over | Based on tax year | Must use MTD from |
|---|---|---|
| £50,000 | 2024 to 2025 | 6 April 2026 |
| £30,000 | 2025 to 2026 | 6 April 2027 |
| £20,000 | 2026 to 2027 | 6 April 2028 |
Practical tip: your quote and invoice app does not need to file your tax itself, as long as it sends every invoice into MTD-compatible accounting software. Powered Now is the job app we found that is HMRC-recognised for MTD for VAT and Income Tax on its own.
For our full ranking of every type of trade software, start at the Software for Tradespeople home page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best quoting app for tradesmen in the UK?
Tradify is our pick for most small UK trade teams: price-list imports, kit bundles, online quote acceptance from the Pro plan and links to Xero, Sage and QuickBooks. Powered Now is a strong UK alternative with Making Tax Digital built in, and YourTradebase is a simple, cheaper option for small firms.
Is there a free quote and invoice app for tradesmen?
ServiceM8 has a free plan for one user and up to 30 jobs a month. FreeAgent is free with a NatWest, RBS or Ulster Bank business account, and with Mettle if you make at least one transaction a month. YourTradebase drops to a limited free account after its 30-day trial.
Can I just use Xero or QuickBooks for quotes?
Yes, if you do a few larger jobs a month and work alone. Accounting apps produce tidy quotes and invoices, but they lack job scheduling, site photos, job sheets and certificates. Once you have staff or more than a handful of jobs a week, a trade job app linked to your accounts saves time.
What must a UK invoice include?
GOV.UK says an invoice must include a unique number, your business name, address and contact details, the customer's name and address, a description of the work, the supply date, the invoice date, the amounts charged, any VAT and the total owed. VAT-registered businesses have extra rules for VAT invoices.
Do I need Making Tax Digital software for invoices?
Invoices themselves are not filed with HMRC, but if you are VAT-registered you must keep digital records and submit VAT returns with MTD-compatible software. Sole traders and landlords with qualifying income over £50,000 must use MTD for Income Tax from 6 April 2026, dropping to £30,000 from April 2027.
How much does quoting software cost for a sole trader?
Expect £25 to £37 a month for a trade job app at list price: ServiceM8 Starter £25, Powered Now Business £28 ex VAT, YourTradebase £29 ex VAT, Tradify Lite £34 or Pro £37. Accounting-only options start lower, such as Xero Ignite at £18 ex VAT.
When should a tradesperson register for VAT?
GOV.UK says you must register when your taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000. Once registered, your quotes should make clear whether prices include VAT, and your invoices must show the VAT amount.
Sources and checks
Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
- Tradify UK pricing page
- Powered Now pricing page
- Powered Now official information page
- YourTradebase pricing page
- ServiceM8 UK pricing page
- ServiceM8 features and add-ons
- Fergus UK pricing page
- ToolTime UK pricing page
- Xero UK pricing
- Sage Accounting pricing
- QuickBooks UK pricing (third-party check, 15 Aug 2026)
- FreeAgent pricing
- GOV.UK: invoices, what they must include
- GOV.UK: when to register for VAT
- GOV.UK: Making Tax Digital for Income Tax eligibility