Commusoft review (UK, 2026)
Quick answer
Commusoft does not publish prices. Capterra UK lists it from about £59 per user per month, and Commusoft says all prices exclude VAT and contracts run 12 months, billed monthly. It is built for firms with 6 or more staff, and it is our pick for UK plumbing and heating firms of that size.
On this page
- Who should buy Commusoft, and who should not?
- Commusoft key facts
- What does Commusoft do well?
- Where does Commusoft fall short?
- How much does Commusoft cost?
- Commusoft features in detail
- What do users say about Commusoft?
- Commusoft pros and cons
- Who is Commusoft best for?
- What are the best alternatives to Commusoft?
- FAQs
Commusoft is a London-built job management system for plumbing, heating and gas firms that have outgrown simple trade apps. We compared its published plans, contract terms and user reviews on 12 October 2026 to work out what it really costs and who it suits.
Who should buy Commusoft, and who should not?
Our verdict
Commusoft is our best pick for UK heating and plumbing firms with 6 or more staff. Buy it if you run several engineers, sell service plans or maintenance contracts, and need an office team to dispatch, track stock and chase renewals. Skip it if you are a sole trader or a team under 6: you will pay for features you will not use and sign a 12-month contract you do not need. Small teams are better off with Tradify, our best overall pick for small UK trade teams.
Commusoft key facts
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| UK price | Not published. Capterra UK lists "from £59.00 per user" per month |
| Pricing basis | Per user |
| VAT | "All prices exclude VAT" |
| Contract | 12 months, billed monthly by direct debit. Discounts for 100+ users |
| Free trial | Mentioned on Commusoft's site with no length given. Capterra's US site says none |
| Onboarding | Described as "essential, not optional". Whether it costs extra is not published |
| Minimum size | "Specifically designed for businesses with 6 or more staff" |
| Apps | iOS and Android engineer app (works offline), plus separate Stockroom and Vehicle Tracking apps |
| Accounting | Xero (vendor). Capterra also lists Sage 50, FreeAgent and Stripe |
| Certificates | Digitised certificates and custom forms |
| HQ and UK office | London (241 Southwark Bridge Road, SE1). Founded 2006 |
What does Commusoft do well?
Built for plumbing and heating
Most job apps are general tools that heating engineers bend to fit. Commusoft has been around since 2006, and plumbing and heating is its main focus. Service contracts, recurring maintenance, asset records for boilers and digitised certificates are core features, not add-ons. Our guide to heating engineer software explains why that matters for firms that live on annual servicing.
Office control for bigger teams
Every plan includes drag-and-drop dispatch and routing, job costing, contract and schedule management, live fleet tracking and more than 40 reports. Higher plans add scheduling optimisation, multi-location stock control and mass scheduling. That is the toolkit an office manager needs when 10 vans are on the road.
Customer portal and online booking
Commusoft offers a customer portal and online booking, which can cut calls to the office. Ask which documents customers can see in the portal. Tradify does not mention a portal on its pages, and Powered Now keeps one for its top plan.
Proven at scale
Commusoft claims more than 10,000 professionals use it, and says that in 2025 it handled over 2.1 million jobs, over £1B of invoices and over £400M of accepted estimates. These are vendor figures, but they show it is not a niche start-up.
Strong Capterra and G2 scores
Capterra UK showed 4.7 from 212 reviews and G2 4.8 from 40 when we checked. Those reviews are often written by the owners and office staff who chose the software.
Where does Commusoft fall short?
- No published prices. You must book a demo to get a quote. The only figure we found is Capterra UK's "from £59 per user".
- A 12-month contract. You cannot leave after a bad month. Tradify, Fergus and Powered Now all let you pay month to month, and ServiceM8 states no contract.
- Not for small teams. Commusoft itself says it is designed for 6 or more staff.
- Onboarding is mandatory. Commusoft calls onboarding "essential, not optional". Expect a set-up project, and ask whether it is charged separately.
- Support may cost extra. One Capterra reviewer says phone support is a paid add-on. We could not confirm this on Commusoft's own pages, so ask.
- Paid add-ons. Fleet+, Sales+, AI:den+ and Analytics+ are sold on top of the plans, and their prices are not published.
- Thin Trustpilot record. Trustpilot UK showed 4.1 from just 17 reviews for commusoft.com. The iPhone app scored 4.2 from 119 ratings.
- QuickBooks not confirmed. We found Xero, Sage 50 and FreeAgent, but not QuickBooks.
How much does Commusoft cost?
Commusoft's plans page names three plans but shows no prices. You get a quote after a demo.
| Plan | Price | What it adds |
|---|---|---|
| Go Paperless | Quote only | Job and engineer tracking, custom forms, digitised certificates, plus the core dispatch, invoicing, job costing, contracts, fleet tracking and 40+ reports |
| Customer Journey | Quote only | Commercial contracts, scheduling optimisation, online booking, multi-location stock control |
| Automation | Quote only | Mass scheduling, custom security roles |
| Add-ons | Quote only | Fleet+, Sales+, AI:den+, Analytics+ |
Worked examples (estimates)
Using Capterra UK's "from £59 per user" figure, ex VAT, and a 12-month contract:
| Team | Monthly (estimate) | 12-month commitment (estimate) |
|---|---|---|
| 6 users | £354 | £4,248 |
| 10 users | £590 | £7,080 |
| 20 users | £1,180 | £14,160 |
These are floor estimates. Higher plans, add-ons and any onboarding fee would push them up. For comparison, 6 users on Tradify Pro would cost £222 a month (VAT treatment not stated on Tradify's pricing page), and Joblogic's Standard plan starts at £45 per user per month billed annually, so £270 a month for 6. The extra spend on Commusoft buys service contract management, stock and dispatch tools that Tradify does not offer.
Before you sign: ask for the total first-year cost in writing, including onboarding, add-ons, phone support and any price rise at renewal. A 12-month contract means a bad fit costs you a full year.
Questions to ask in your Commusoft demo
- Which plan do we need for service contracts, stock and online booking?
- Is onboarding charged, and how long does it take?
- Is phone support included or a paid add-on?
- Which certificate types are included as standard?
- What happens to the price when the 12 months end?
Commusoft features in detail
Dispatch and routing
The office sees every engineer on a drag-and-drop diary, with routing and live fleet tracking on all plans. The Customer Journey plan adds scheduling optimisation, and Automation adds mass scheduling for firms booking hundreds of service visits at once. Fleet+ is a paid add-on for deeper vehicle tracking.
Service contracts and planned maintenance
Commusoft handles service contracts and recurring maintenance, plus asset records. For a heating firm, this is the money feature: service contracts and asset records let you plan each boiler's next visit. Ask in the demo how service jobs are generated. Commercial contracts are on Customer Journey and above.
Digitised certificates and custom forms
Engineers fill in digitised certificates and custom forms in the offline mobile app. Commusoft does not list every certificate type on the pages we checked, so ask for the full list (CP12, warning notices, commissioning records and so on) during your demo. If certificates are your main need on a small budget, our heating engineer software comparison covers cheaper apps.
Stock control
Customer Journey adds multi-location stock control, and a separate Stockroom app supports it. That suits firms with a warehouse and stock on vans. Purchase orders were not mentioned on the pages we checked.
Customer portal and online booking
Customers can use a portal and book online. SMS+ adds text messaging. This cuts calls to the office and helps service plan renewals.
AI:den
AI:den is Commusoft's built-in AI engine. It writes email summaries and report drafts. AI:den+ is a paid add-on for AI agents. Prices are not published.
Reporting and multi-option proposals
All plans include 40+ reports and multi-option proposals, so you can quote a customer "good, better, best" boiler options in one document.
What do users say about Commusoft?
These are third-party scores, not our own rating. We do not average them.
| Platform | Score | Reviews | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capterra UK | 4.7 out of 5 | 212 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Trustpilot UK (commusoft.com) | 4.1 out of 5 | 17 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| G2 | 4.8 out of 5 | 40 | 12 Oct 2026 |
| App Store (UK) | 4.2 out of 5 | 119 ratings | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Google Play | Not confirmed | n/a | We could not confirm a score |
How to read these scores
Capterra and G2 reviews are often written by the people who chose the software: owners, office managers and operations leads. App Store ratings come from engineers using the phone app every day. Trustpilot reviews come from anyone, but 17 reviews is too few to tell you much either way.
Office users and owners on Capterra and G2 rate it highly. The engineer app scores lower, and the Trustpilot sample is too small to read much into. Ask for a reference customer of your size and trade before you sign.
Commusoft pros and cons
Pros
- Built for UK plumbing and heating since 2006
- Service contracts, assets and digitised certificates in one system
- Drag-and-drop dispatch, routing and fleet tracking on every plan
- Customer portal and online booking
- Multi-location stock control and a Stockroom app
- London head office
- Capterra UK 4.7 from 212 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
Cons
- No published prices; Capterra UK suggests from about £59 per user
- 12-month contract
- Designed for 6+ staff, overkill for small teams
- Mandatory onboarding, cost not published
- Paid add-ons (Fleet+, Sales+, AI:den+, Analytics+)
- QuickBooks integration not confirmed
Who is Commusoft best for?
| You are... | Fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Heating or plumbing firm, 6 to 50 staff, with service plans | Strong | Contracts, assets, certificates, dispatch and stock in one system |
| Gas engineering firm with an office team | Strong | Digitised certificates plus office control |
| Electrical contractor or renewables installer, 6+ staff | Good | Listed target trades; compare with Joblogic for compliance-heavy work |
| Pest control firm with seasonal staff | Good | Commusoft offers flexible seasonal licences for pest control |
| Facilities or planned maintenance contractor | Fair | Joblogic is more focused on PPM and compliance |
| Sole trader or team of 2 to 5 | Weak | Too much software and a 12-month tie-in. Use Tradify or Powered Now |
What are the best alternatives to Commusoft?
Best for planned maintenance and compliance
Joblogic
From £45 per user per month, billed annually
Joblogic suits contractors running planned maintenance, multi-site clients and compliance work across gas, HVAC, fire and electrical. It publishes a starting price, but most customers sign for 24 or 36 months.
Best overall for small teams
Tradify
From £34 per user per month (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page)
For teams under 6, Tradify gives you gas and electrical certificates from the £37 Pro plan, Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan and no contract. It lacks Commusoft's stock control and service contract depth.
- Month-to-month billing
- Trustpilot 4.8 from 610 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
- Basic inventory, no customer portal mentioned
Certificates and MTD on a budget
Powered Now
£28 to £40 per user per month, ex VAT
A UK app with nearly 100 trade forms and HMRC-recognised Making Tax Digital, and no long contract. Good for small heating teams that are not ready for Commusoft.
Firms with 50+ engineers and big fleets should also look at simPRO and BigChange, which are now part of the same group. Our field service management software guide compares all the larger systems.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Commusoft cost per month?
Commusoft does not publish prices on its own site. Capterra UK lists it from £59 per user per month, a figure supplied by the vendor. Commusoft says all prices exclude VAT. On that basis, a 6-person team would pay roughly £354 a month ex VAT, but you need a quote to confirm.
Is Commusoft worth it?
For a plumbing, heating or gas firm with 6 or more staff that runs service contracts, yes, it is one of the strongest UK options. For a sole trader or a team of 2 to 5, it is likely too much software and too much commitment. Tradify or Powered Now cost less and have no 12-month contract.
Does Commusoft have a contract?
Yes. Commusoft's pricing pages say contracts run for 12 months, billed monthly by direct debit, with discounts for firms with 100 or more users. That is a bigger commitment than Tradify or Powered Now, which can be paid month to month (ServiceM8's pricing page states no contract).
Is Commusoft only for gas engineers?
No. Its main focus is plumbing and heating, including gas engineers, but it also targets electrical contractors, renewables installers and pest control firms. It says it is designed for businesses with 6 or more staff.
Does Commusoft integrate with Xero?
Yes. Commusoft names Xero on its homepage. Capterra also lists Sage 50, FreeAgent and Stripe integrations. We could not confirm a QuickBooks link on the pages we checked, so ask during your demo if you use QuickBooks.
Does Commusoft have a free trial?
Commusoft's site says 'Start your free trial today' but gives no trial length. Capterra's US site says there is no free trial. Expect a demo-led sales process, and ask for trial terms in writing.
Where is Commusoft based?
Commusoft is a London company, founded in 2006. CB Insights lists its address as 241 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 6FP. It claims more than 10,000 professionals use it, and it is one of the few large job management systems actually built and run from the UK.
Sources and checks
Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
- Commusoft plans page (UK)
- Commusoft pricing page (contract and VAT)
- Commusoft UK homepage
- Commusoft on Capterra UK (pricing and ratings)
- Commusoft on Capterra (integrations and reviews)
- Commusoft on Trustpilot UK
- Commusoft on G2
- Commusoft on the App Store (GB)
- Commusoft company profile, CB Insights
- Commusoft pest control software page
- Joblogic pricing page
- Tradify UK pricing page