Best software for gas and heating engineers (UK)
Quick answer
Sole gas engineers who mainly issue CP12s should look at Gas Engineer Software (from £18 a month ex VAT) or Powered Now Professional (£32 per user ex VAT, with MTD). Teams of 1 to 10 should pick Tradify Pro (£37 per user), which adds UK gas certificates to job management. Firms with 6+ staff should get a Commusoft quote.
On this page
A gas engineer's software has one job that a plumber's does not: producing gas safety paperwork that stands up to HSE rules, then reminding you (and the customer) when the next one is due. We compared the UK options on that first, then on quotes, scheduling and cost, based on pricing pages checked on 12 October 2026 and published features.
What does a gas and heating engineer need from software?
Gas Safe records and notices
The core forms are the landlord gas safety record (often called a CP12), the service or maintenance record, and the warning notice for unsafe situations. HSE sets what a landlord record must contain, including each appliance checked, the engineer's name, registration number and signature, any defect and the action taken. A good app builds those fields in so you cannot miss one. We cover the rules in detail in our guide to gas certificate apps.
Annual service reminders
Landlord checks are annual, and HSE allows a check up to 2 months early while keeping the original due date. Boiler services follow the same rhythm. Automatic reminders turn every install into years of repeat work, so treat this as a money feature, not an admin one.
Boiler installs and commissioning
Installs mean bigger quotes, deposits, materials and a commissioning checklist at the end. Check that the commissioning and unvented cylinder forms you use are in the app, because not every certificate app lists them.
Gas Safe registration on every record
HSE says a landlord record issued after 1 April 2009 is only valid if the engineer is on the Gas Safe Register. Your software should store each engineer's registration number and print it automatically, especially once you employ others.
Heat pumps and oil (the HVAC side)
If you are adding heat pumps or oil work, check for heat pump commissioning and oil forms (such as CD/10 and TI/133D). Gas Engineer Software, Gas Certificate App, Powered Now and Tradify each list some of these.
How do the main gas engineer apps compare?
| Tool | Entry price | Gas forms | Reminders | Accounting | Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tradify | £37 per user a month for Pro, the first plan with certificates (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page) | Gas safety record, service, warning notice, commissioning, unvented, test and purge, oil | Service reminders on Plus (£44) | Xero, Sage, QuickBooks Online | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Powered Now | £32 per user a month ex VAT for Professional (Business at £28 has no certificates) | CP12, service, warning notice, test and purge, commissioning, unvented, catering, non-domestic and more | Automatic annual reminders | Xero, QuickBooks, MTD built in | iOS, Android, Mac, Windows |
| Gas Engineer Software | £18 a month (annual) or £19 (monthly) ex VAT | CP12, boiler service, gas and oil, heat pump certificates | Not stated on the pricing page | Not confirmed on the pages we checked | Android, iOS (offline), web portal |
| Commusoft | Quote only; Capterra UK lists from £59 per user; ex VAT | "Digitised certificates" and custom forms | Service contracts and recurring maintenance | Xero; Capterra lists Sage 50 and FreeAgent | iOS, Android (offline) |
| Joblogic | From £45 per user a month, billed annually | CP12, CP17, CP6, CP14 warning notice, CP42 catering, commissioning, unvented and more | Planned maintenance | Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and others | Mobile app, works offline |
| ServiceM8 | Free (30 jobs), then £25 a month | Generic PDF forms; no named UK CP12 found | Recurring jobs and reminders add-on | Xero, QuickBooks | iOS, Android |
Which software should a gas engineer pick?
Best overall for small heating teams (1 to 10)
Tradify
From £34 per user per month (certificates from £37 on Pro)
Tradify names gas engineers and HVAC among its core trades and puts a long list of gas and oil forms on its Pro plan. You get quotes, scheduling, timesheets and invoicing in the same app, with Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan and a London office. It is our best overall pick for small UK trade teams.
- Wide gas and oil form list, including TI/133D and CD/10
- Month-to-month billing, no contract
- Trustpilot 4.8 from 610 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
- Certificates need Pro, service reminders need Plus
- Per-user pricing adds up past about 10 people
- Basic inventory, so not ideal for big parts stocks
Best for UK certificates and MTD on a budget
Powered Now
From £32 per user per month ex VAT for certificates
Powered Now is UK-built, has nearly 100 trade forms including a full gas set, and is recognised by HMRC for MTD for VAT and Income Tax. That last point matters to sole gas engineers: from 6 April 2026, MTD for Income Tax applies to anyone self-employed with qualifying income over £50,000. Certificates need Professional, not the £28 Business plan.
- Automatic annual reminders from certificates
- Windows and Mac apps for the office, works offline
- Trustpilot 4.7 from 564 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
- App Store score is lower: 4.1 from 243 ratings
- Customer portal and drag-and-drop scheduling only on Premium (£40)
Best certificate-first app for sole gas engineers
Gas Engineer Software
From £18 a month ex VAT (billed annually)
If certificates are 80% of your paperwork, Gas Engineer Software is the cheapest serious option we found. It covers CP12s, boiler service records, gas, oil and heat pump certificates plus job sheets. Its pricing page contradicts itself on the Core plan (£23 per user in the FAQ, £25 in the calculator), so confirm before you pay.
- Low entry price and a 14-day trial with no card
- Offline apps for Android and iOS
- Warning notice and commissioning forms are not named on the pricing page
- Thinner quoting and scheduling than full job management tools
Best for heating firms with 6+ staff
Commusoft
Quote only (about £59 per user per Capterra UK)
Commusoft's main focus is plumbing and heating, and it says it is built for businesses with 6 or more staff. You get dispatch, routing, service contracts, a customer portal, stock and fleet tracking. The trade-off is a 12-month contract and no public prices.
- Service contracts and recurring maintenance built in
- Capterra UK 4.7 from 212 reviews, checked 12 Oct 2026
- 12-month contract billed monthly; prices ex VAT
- A Capterra reviewer says phone support is a paid add-on
Best for planned maintenance contracts
Joblogic
From £45 per user per month, billed annually
Joblogic suits firms that service commercial boilers and plant on contracts. Its gas form list is long, including non-domestic CP17 and catering CP42, plus asset and planned maintenance tools. Most customers sign 24 or 36 month contracts, and its iPhone app is rated 1.8 from 201 ratings, so test the engineer app hard.
- Commercial and catering gas forms
- Wide accounting support, including Sage and FreeAgent
- Long contracts are the norm
- Weak App Store rating (1.8 from 201)
What about ServiceM8? It is our best value pick for many trades, but we found no named UK CP12 or warning notice form, only generic PDF forms. For gas work that is a real gap. See our ServiceM8 review if you mostly do plumbing and only occasional gas.
Two more certificate-only apps worth knowing
Gas Certificate App (Trade Apps Ltd) costs £20 per user a month or £216 a year ex VAT on its own site, or £20.49 a month through the App Store. Its form list is the broadest of the standalone apps: CP12, breakdown, service, warning notice, boiler commissioning, unvented cylinder, non-domestic, LPG, leisure and catering records, CP15 test and purge, oil forms, power flush and heat pump commissioning. It has 4.2 from 232 ratings on the UK App Store, checked 12 Oct 2026.
iCertifi GasCert costs £24.99 a month or £149 a year (the vendor says prices include VAT). It covers CP12, CP1, warning notices and service reports, but lists no commissioning form, and it had only 2 App Store ratings when we checked. Both apps, and Gas Engineer Software, are compared side by side in our gas certificate app guide.
What does gas engineer software cost? Two worked examples
Sole gas engineer
| Tool and plan | Monthly | Per year | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gas Engineer Software Starter | £18 ex VAT (annual) | £216 ex VAT | Certificates and job sheets |
| Gas Certificate App | £20 ex VAT | £216 ex VAT (annual plan) | Certificates only, very wide form list |
| Powered Now Professional | £32 ex VAT | £320 ex VAT (annual plan) | Certificates, quotes, invoices, MTD |
| Tradify Pro | £37 | £444 | Certificates, quotes, scheduling, invoices |
The gap between a certificate app and full job management is about £12 to £19 a month. If you currently write quotes in Word and invoices in a spreadsheet, that buys back several evenings a month.
Five-person heating company
| Tool and plan | Monthly | Contract |
|---|---|---|
| Gas Engineer Software Pro | £150 ex VAT (5 x £30) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Powered Now Professional | £160 ex VAT (5 x £32) | Monthly, or annual with two months free |
| Tradify Pro | £185 (5 x £37); Plus £220 | Month to month |
| Joblogic Standard | £225 (5 x £45), billed annually | Usually 24 or 36 months |
| Commusoft | About £295 ex VAT (5 x £59, Capterra UK figure) | 12 months; built for 6+ staff |
Our verdict
Sole engineer doing mostly landlord checks: Gas Engineer Software. Sole engineer who also quotes installs and wants MTD sorted: Powered Now. Team of 2 to 10: Tradify. Six or more staff with office dispatch: get quotes from Commusoft and Joblogic and compare contract length as hard as price.
Which features matter most (and which can you skip)?
Must have
- The exact gas forms you issue. Check the list against last month's paperwork, including warning notices and commissioning.
- Automatic service reminders. The cheapest marketing a heating firm has.
- Offline working. Boiler cupboards and basements kill phone signal. Gas Engineer Software, Powered Now, Commusoft and Joblogic all say their apps work offline.
- Email and print straight from site. HSE requires a printable record and a paper copy on request.
- Accounting sync. Saves re-keying every invoice.
Nice to have
- Customer portal (Powered Now Premium, Commusoft, Joblogic).
- GPS tracking of engineers once you have three or more vans.
- Stock control, if you hold boilers and parts in a unit.
Check the digital record rules
HSE accepts electronic gas safety records if they can be printed on request, are kept secure from loss and interference, and identify the engineer, for example by an electronic signature, registration number or name. Any app on this page should meet that if you use it properly, but check two things in the trial: that your signature and Gas Safe number appear on the PDF, and that you can still pull up last year's record in seconds when a landlord or letting agent rings. A tenant can receive an emailed copy if they agree, but must get paper on request, so keep a printer in the van or at home.
Skip for now
- AI receptionists and AI writing tools until the basics run smoothly.
- Enterprise reporting if you have fewer than six engineers.
For a wider look at scheduling and dispatch systems, read our field service management software guide. If you do more bathrooms and leaks than boilers, our plumbing software guide is a better starting point.
What mistakes should you avoid when switching?
- Losing your certificate history. Export every past record as PDF before you cancel the old system. Landlords must keep records for at least 2 years, and they will ask you for copies.
- Losing your reminder list. Your list of annual due dates is your future income. Import it before anything else.
- Signing a long contract on a demo. Joblogic customers usually sign 24 or 36 months and Commusoft uses 12. Run the free trial with real jobs first.
- Paying per user for office staff who never go on site. Ask how office-only users are charged.
- Assuming every app has every form. iCertifi GasCert, for example, lists no commissioning form. Check before you switch.
- Switching in the October to January rush. Heating breakdowns peak in winter. Move in late spring or summer.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app for a gas engineer in the UK?
For a sole trader who mostly needs gas safety records, a certificate-first app such as Gas Engineer Software (from £18 a month ex VAT) or Gas Certificate App (£20 per user a month ex VAT) is cheapest. If you also want quotes, scheduling and invoices in one place, Tradify Pro (£37 per user) or Powered Now Professional (£32 per user ex VAT) are better value.
Can I issue a digital CP12 instead of paper?
Yes. HSE says electronic gas safety records are acceptable if they can be printed on request, are secure from loss and interference, and identify the engineer, for example with an electronic signature or registration number. Tenants can receive an electronic copy if they agree, but a paper copy must be given on request.
How much does gas engineer software cost?
Based on pricing pages checked on 12 October 2026, certificate apps cost about £18 to £25 a month, job management tools with gas certificates cost £32 to £44 per user a month, and larger systems such as Joblogic start from £45 per user a month billed annually. Commusoft does not publish prices; Capterra UK lists it from £59 per user.
Does Tradify do gas safety certificates?
Yes, on the Pro plan (£37 per user a month) and above. Tradify lists landlord and homeowner gas safety records, service and maintenance records, warning notices, breakdown reports, central heating commissioning, unvented hot water, test and purge, catering, and oil forms such as CD/10 and TI/133D.
Is Commusoft worth it for a small heating business?
Usually not for a sole trader. Commusoft says it is designed for businesses with 6 or more staff, uses a 12-month contract billed monthly, and does not publish prices. For a team under six, Tradify or Powered Now give you UK gas certificates with month-to-month billing. Commusoft makes sense once you have office staff dispatching several engineers.
Can software send annual boiler service reminders?
Yes. Powered Now sends automatic annual reminders for certificates, Tradify includes service reminders on its Plus plan (£44 per user), ServiceM8 sells a recurring jobs and reminders add-on, and Commusoft and Joblogic handle service contracts and planned maintenance. Reminders are the main way heating firms turn one-off installs into repeat work.
Do I need to be Gas Safe registered to use these apps?
Anyone can download the apps, but HSE says a landlord gas safety record issued after 1 April 2009 is only valid if the engineer is registered with Gas Safe Register. The app does not make a record valid. Your registration, and completing all the required checks, does.
Sources and checks
Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
- HSE: landlord gas safety record
- iCertifi pricing (GasCert)
- Gas Engineer Software pricing
- Gas Certificate App pricing
- Gas Certificate App on the UK App Store
- Powered Now pricing page
- Powered Now gas safety certificates
- Tradify UK pricing page
- Tradify gas safety certificates
- Commusoft pricing (VAT and contract terms)
- Commusoft on Capterra UK
- Joblogic pricing
- Joblogic gas certificate app
- ServiceM8 UK pricing page
- Tradify on Trustpilot