Best gas certificate apps for UK engineers (CP12)
Quick answer
For sole gas engineers, Gas Engineer Software (from £18 a month ex VAT) and Gas Certificate App (£20 per user a month ex VAT) are the best value CP12 apps. If you also want quotes, invoices and reminders, Powered Now Professional (£32 per user ex VAT) or Tradify Pro (£37 per user) cover gas safety records inside full job management.
On this page
- What must a gas safety record include (HSE)?
- How do the gas certificate apps compare?
- Gas Engineer Software: best value for sole engineers
- Gas Certificate App: widest form list
- iCertifi GasCert: for iPhone users already on iCertifi
- Powered Now: best for certificates plus MTD
- Tradify: best all-rounder for small gas and heating teams
- Commusoft and Joblogic: for bigger firms
- Landlord rules: annual check, 2-year records, 28 days to tenants
- FAQs
A gas certificate app has to do two things well: produce a record that meets HSE rules every time, and get it to the landlord fast. We compared the main UK CP12 apps on forms, devices, reminders and price, using pricing pages and HSE guidance checked on 12 October 2026.
What must a gas safety record include (HSE)?
The Gas Safety (Installation and Use) Regulations 1998 set what a landlord gas safety record must contain. According to HSE, the minimum is:
- a description and the location of each appliance or flue checked;
- the name, registration number and signature of the person who did the check;
- the date of the check;
- the address of the property where the appliance or flue is installed;
- the name and address of the landlord, or their agent;
- any safety-related defect found and any remedial action taken;
- confirmation that the check covered the matters set out in regulation 26(9) of the 1998 Regulations.
HSE adds three points that matter when you pick software:
- Registration. A record issued after 1 April 2009 is only valid if the engineer is registered with Gas Safe Register. Your app should store and print your registration number automatically.
- Completion. The record should only be issued once all the required checks are complete. Apps that block sending until every mandatory field is filled help here.
- Electronic records. They are fine if they can be printed on request, are secure from loss and interference, and identify the engineer (for example an electronic or scanned signature, registration number or name).
Engineers and landlords usually call the landlord gas safety record a "CP12". Legally, what matters is the content above, not the form's name or layout. HSE even allows landlords to design their own record, as long as the engineer completes it.
How do the gas certificate apps compare?
| App | Price | Gas certificate types | Devices | Reminders |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gas Engineer Software | From £18 a month (annual) or £19 (monthly), ex VAT | CP12, boiler service records, gas and oil certificates, heat pump certificates, job sheets | Android and iOS (offline), web portal | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Gas Certificate App | £20 per user a month or £216 a year, ex VAT | CP12, breakdown, service, warning notice, commissioning, unvented, non-domestic, LPG, leisure, catering, CP15, oil, power flush, heat pump | iOS, Android, desktop | Not stated on the pricing page |
| iCertifi GasCert | £24.99 a month or £149 a year (incl VAT) | CP1, CP12, breakdown and service report, warning notice, test and purge, leisure; no commissioning form listed | iPhone, iPad; vendor also says Android | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Powered Now Professional | £32 per user a month ex VAT (£320 a year) | CP12, service, warning notice, test and purge, commissioning, power flush, CP2 leisure, non-domestic, catering, unvented and more | iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, Windows, web | Automatic annual reminders |
| Tradify Pro | £37 per user a month (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page) | Gas safety record, service, commissioning, warning notice, breakdown, catering, unvented, test and purge, oil | iPhone, iPad, Android, desktop | Service reminders on Plus (£44) |
| Joblogic | From £45 per user a month, billed annually | CP12, CP17, CP6, LPG, CP14, RIDDOR warning, CP42 catering, plant and central heating commissioning and more | Mobile app and office, offline | Planned maintenance |
| Commusoft | Quote only; Capterra UK lists from £59 per user; ex VAT | "Digitised certificates" (full list not checked) | iOS, Android | Service contracts |
Standalone certificate app or full job management?
This is the first decision, and it matters more than which brand you pick. A standalone certificate app does one job: it produces gas records quickly and sends them. A job management app adds quotes, scheduling, invoicing and payments, with certificates as one part of the job.
| Standalone app | Job management app | |
|---|---|---|
| Examples | Gas Engineer Software Starter, Gas Certificate App, iCertifi GasCert | Powered Now Professional, Tradify Pro |
| Typical cost per year | £149 to £216 (GES Starter annual is £216 ex VAT; GasCert is £149 incl VAT) | £320 ex VAT (Powered Now) to £444 (Tradify) |
| Quotes and invoices | Limited or none; usually a separate tool | Built in, with accounting sync |
| Annual reminders | Not stated on the pricing pages we checked | Powered Now: automatic; Tradify: on Plus |
| Best for | Engineers doing mostly landlord checks for agents | Engineers who also quote installs and repairs |
A worked example: the gap between Gas Engineer Software Starter (£216 a year ex VAT) and Powered Now Professional (£320 a year ex VAT) is £104 a year, or £2 a week. If you already pay for separate quoting or invoicing software, add that cost to the standalone app before comparing, and remember that two systems mean typing every customer's details twice. If you only issue certificates for letting agents who pay on account, the standalone app is the cheaper, simpler choice. If you quote boiler swaps and repairs as well, the job management app usually pays for itself in saved admin time.
Gas Engineer Software: best value for sole engineers
Gas Engineer Software (GES) is built for gas engineers first. The Starter plan costs £18 a month billed annually or £19 monthly, ex VAT, and Pro costs £30 per user a month. It covers CP12s, boiler service records, gas and oil certificates, heat pump certificates and job sheets, with offline apps for Android and iOS and a web portal for the office. There is a 14-day trial with no card.
Two cautions. The pricing page contradicts itself on the middle Core plan (£23 per user in the FAQ, £25 in the calculator). And warning notices and commissioning forms are not named on the pricing page, though it claims "all standard gas industry certificates". Confirm both in the trial.
Pick it if you are a sole engineer doing mostly landlord checks and services. Skip it if you need strong quoting and scheduling as well.
Gas Certificate App: widest form list
Gas Certificate App, from Trade Apps Ltd, has the broadest certificate range of the standalone apps: domestic CP12, breakdown, service, warning notice, boiler commissioning checklist, unvented cylinder, non-domestic, commercial, LPG, leisure and catering records, CP15 test and purge, oil forms (CD/10 to CD/51 and TI/133D), power flush, heat pump commissioning, and even caravan and boat records. It costs £20 per user a month or £216 a year ex VAT on its own site. Through the App Store it is £20.49 a month or £224.99 a year, so buying direct is slightly cheaper.
It has 4.2 from 232 ratings on the UK App Store, checked 12 Oct 2026, and offers a 14-day trial with no card.
Pick it if you do commercial, LPG, catering or oil work alongside domestic gas. Skip it if you want invoicing in the same app.
iCertifi GasCert: for iPhone users already on iCertifi
iCertifi GasCert costs £24.99 a month or £149 a year, with an Enterprise plan at £490 a year, and iCertifi says its prices include VAT. Once you account for VAT, the £149 annual plan is competitive with the ex-VAT prices of the apps above. It covers CP1, CP12, breakdown and service reports, warning notices, service and maintenance records, non-domestic test and purge, and leisure industry records. No commissioning form is listed.
The App Store listing needs iOS 18.6 or later. It had only 2 ratings on the UK App Store when we checked, so there is little user feedback to judge it on. There is a 2-week trial.
Pick it if you already use iCertifi for electrical work and want the same company for gas. Skip it if you install boilers and need commissioning records.
Powered Now: best for certificates plus MTD
Powered Now is a UK-built job management app with nearly 100 trade forms, and its gas set is extensive: CP12, breakdown and service records, service checklist, warning notice, test and purge, central heating commissioning, power flush, CP2 leisure, non-domestic safety report, plant commissioning, catering, unvented hot water, water pipework and bonding notice. Certificates come with automatic annual reminders, which is the feature that turns one landlord check into a yearly customer.
Certificates need the Professional plan at £32 per user a month ex VAT (£320 a year). The £28 Business plan does not include them. Powered Now is also recognised by HMRC for MTD for VAT and Income Tax, and runs on Mac and Windows as well as phones. Its App Store score is lower than some rivals (4.1 from 243 ratings), but Trustpilot shows 4.7 from 564 reviews, both checked 12 Oct 2026. Read our full Powered Now review.
Pick it if you want certificates, quotes, invoices and tax in one UK app at a low price.
Tradify: best all-rounder for small gas and heating teams
Tradify is our best overall pick for small UK trade teams, and its gas coverage is strong: landlord and homeowner gas safety records, service and maintenance records, install, commission and decommission records, warning notices, breakdown reports, catering, central heating commissioning, unvented hot water, test and purge and boiler records, plus oil forms CD/10, CD/11, CD/12, CD/14 and TI/133D. Certificates start on the Pro plan at £37 per user a month. Service reminders need Plus at £44.
You also get quoting, scheduling, timesheets and invoicing, with Xero, Sage and QuickBooks on every plan, and Trustpilot 4.8 from 610 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).
Try Tradify free (Ad) Read our Tradify review
Commusoft and Joblogic: for bigger firms
Once you have office staff dispatching several engineers, a standalone certificate app stops being enough. You need shared scheduling, service contracts and a single record of every appliance across hundreds of properties.
Commusoft focuses on plumbing and heating firms with 6 or more staff. It does not publish prices (Capterra UK lists it from £59 per user), prices exclude VAT, and contracts run 12 months billed monthly. Its engineer app works offline with custom forms and digitised certificates, and it manages service contracts and recurring maintenance. See our Commusoft review.
Joblogic has a long gas form list too, including CP17 non-domestic, CP42 catering, RIDDOR warning notices and mains pressure cylinders, plus custom templates. Standard costs from £45 per user a month billed annually, and most customers sign 24 or 36 month contracts. Its iPhone app is rated 1.8 from 201 ratings, so trial the engineer experience carefully.
Our verdict
Sole engineer, mostly landlord checks: Gas Engineer Software. Commercial, LPG or oil work: Gas Certificate App. Want quotes, invoices, reminders and MTD in one place: Powered Now. Small team that wants the best all-round job management: Tradify. Six or more staff: compare Commusoft and Joblogic, and weigh contract length as heavily as price.
For a wider look at running a heating business, including costs for a five-person team, see our guide to software for gas and heating engineers. If you mainly do plumbing, read our plumbing software guide.
Landlord rules: annual check, 2-year records, 28 days to tenants
Landlord work drives most CP12s, so your app should make these deadlines easy to hit. According to HSE:
| Rule | Requirement |
|---|---|
| How often | Every year, by a Gas Safe registered engineer |
| Early checks | Up to 2 months early while keeping the original due date |
| Keep records | At least 2 years, or until two further checks if using the early-check flexibility |
| Existing tenants | Copy within 28 days of the check |
| New tenants | Copy before they move in |
| Digital records | Allowed if printable, secure and they identify the engineer; paper copy on request |
What this means for your software: send the PDF from site the moment the check is done, keep every past record searchable for at least two years, and set reminders about ten to eleven months after each check so you can book the next one inside the 2-month early window.
Not found: we searched for "Gaspack" and "Easy Gas Certs" and found no matching UK product, so we have left them out.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best gas certificate app in the UK?
For certificates alone, Gas Engineer Software and Gas Certificate App are the strongest value options we compared, at about £18 to £20 a month ex VAT. Gas Certificate App has the widest form list. If you want quotes, scheduling, invoices and certificates in one app, Powered Now Professional or Tradify Pro are better buys.
Are digital gas safety certificates legal?
Yes. HSE says electronic records are acceptable if they can be printed on request, are secure from loss and interference, and identify the engineer, for example with an electronic or scanned signature, registration number or name. Tenants can be sent an electronic copy if they agree, but must be given a paper copy on request.
How long must a landlord keep a gas safety record?
At least 2 years, according to HSE. If the landlord uses the flexibility to have the check done up to 2 months early while keeping the original due date, the record must be kept until two further checks have been carried out. A good gas app keeps every record searchable so you can resend copies on request.
Is there a free CP12 app?
Not among the apps we checked, but most offer a free trial. Gas Engineer Software, Gas Certificate App, Powered Now and Tradify all offer 14 days with no card needed, and iCertifi GasCert offers 2 weeks. After the trial, expect about £18 to £25 a month for a certificate-only app.
Who can issue a CP12 gas safety record?
Only a Gas Safe registered engineer. HSE says a landlord gas safety record issued after 1 April 2009 is only valid if the engineer is registered with Gas Safe Register, and the record should only be issued once all the required checks are complete. Any app can produce the form, but your registration makes it valid.
How much does gas certificate software cost?
Based on pricing pages checked on 12 October 2026: Gas Engineer Software from £18 a month ex VAT, Gas Certificate App £20 per user ex VAT, iCertifi GasCert £24.99 a month or £149 a year, Powered Now Professional £32 per user ex VAT, Tradify Pro £37 per user, and Joblogic from £45 per user billed annually.
Can a gas app send annual reminders to landlords?
Some can. Powered Now creates automatic annual reminders from certificates, and Tradify includes service reminders on its Plus plan (£44 per user). Commusoft and Joblogic manage reminders through service contracts and planned maintenance. The standalone certificate apps did not state reminder features on the pricing pages we checked.
Sources and checks
Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
- HSE: landlord gas safety record
- HSE: landlord FAQs
- Gas Engineer Software pricing
- Gas Certificate App pricing
- Gas Certificate App on the UK App Store
- iCertifi pricing (GasCert)
- iCertifi GasCert on the UK App Store
- Powered Now pricing page
- Powered Now gas safety certificates
- Tradify UK pricing page
- Tradify gas safety certificates
- Commusoft pricing (VAT and contract terms)
- Commusoft on Capterra UK
- Joblogic pricing
- Joblogic gas certificate app