Ad

This page contains affiliate links, marked "(Ad)". We earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Our rankings and verdicts are not affected. How we make money.

simPRO review (UK, 2026)

Quick answer

simPRO is a quote-only field service system for larger UK contractors. It publishes no prices: you get one Base Plan plus paid add-ons after a sales call. It suits multi-trade electrical, HVAC, fire and plumbing firms running projects and service work. Capterra UK rates it 3.9 from 150 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).

On this page
  1. Who should buy simPRO, and who should not?
  2. simPRO key facts
  3. What does simPRO do well?
  4. Where does simPRO fall short?
  5. How much does simPRO cost?
  6. simPRO features in detail
  7. What do users say about simPRO?
  8. simPRO vs ServiceM8: which should you choose?
  9. simPRO pros and cons
  10. Who is simPRO best for?
  11. What are the best alternatives to simPRO?
  12. FAQs

simPRO (now styled Simpro) is an Australian field service system used by larger electrical, HVAC, plumbing and fire contractors, and its parent group now owns the UK's BigChange too. We compared its published plan, add-ons and user reviews on 12 October 2026 to see whether a UK firm should shortlist it.

Who should buy simPRO, and who should not?

Our verdict

simPRO is one of our two picks for larger multi-trade contractors, alongside BigChange. Shortlist it if you run both project work (installs priced from drawings) and service work (call-outs and maintenance), have stock and purchasing to control, and have an office team that can own a set-up project. Skip it if you are a sole trader or a team of under 10 doing domestic jobs. You would wait for a quote, pay for depth you will not use and lose the simplicity of apps like ServiceM8 or Tradify, which feature in our guide to the best job management software for UK trades.

simPRO key facts

simPRO at a glance, checked 12 Oct 2026
ItemDetail
UK priceNot published. "Request Pricing" only
Pricing basisOne Base Plan plus paid add-ons. Capterra says per user, monthly or annual billing
VATNo prices shown, so VAT treatment not stated
Free trialNot mentioned on the UK pricing page
ContractNot stated
SetupCustom training and implementation listed, price not shown
AppsSimpro Mobile for engineers (iPhone rating below), plus office system
AccountingQuickBooks, Xero, Sage, MYOB
CertificatesCustomisable Digital Forms (paid add-on). No named UK EICR or CP12 certificates found
HQ and UK officeBrisbane, Australia. Offices in Australia, New Zealand, the UK and the US. UK address not published on the pages we checked
Founded2002
Scale claimed250,000+ users worldwide, 14M+ jobs created each year

What does simPRO do well?

Projects and service work in one system

Most trade apps are built for short service jobs. simPRO describes its Base Plan as a way to "efficiently plan and manage projects with one solution", covering quoting and estimating, field and contractor scheduling, field operations, invoicing and payments. That suits firms that do both a three-week commercial install and a same-day call-out.

Estimating from drawings

The Takeoffs add-on counts symbols and marks up plans for jobs, quotes and tenders, with a symbol recognition tool. For an electrical contractor pricing a fit-out from drawings, that is a serious time saver, and it is not something the smaller apps offer.

Stock and purchasing

Real-time inventory management and purchasing are in the Base Plan. Tradify's inventory is basic and ServiceM8 relies on add-ons, so simPRO is far stronger here.

Reporting and multi-company set-ups

The Base Plan includes reporting and business intelligence, and it is "multi-company compatible", useful for groups running more than one trading company.

Broad accounting links

QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and MYOB are all listed. Sage support matters for larger UK firms whose finance teams will not move off it.

A well-rated engineer app

Simpro Mobile scored 4.5 from 176 ratings on the UK App Store when we checked, well ahead of Joblogic's 1.8.

Where does simPRO fall short?

  • No published price. We found no UK £ figure on simPRO's site or on Capterra. You cannot budget until a salesperson calls you.
  • Trial, contract and setup costs not stated. None appear on the UK pricing page.
  • Key features cost extra. Digital forms, the maintenance planner, takeoffs, GPS fleet tracking (Simtrac), SMS and VoIP are all paid add-ons.
  • No named UK certificates found. Digital Forms are customisable, but we found no ready-made EICR or CP12 certificates. Domestic gas and electrical firms may need to build their own or use a separate certificate app.
  • Middling review scores. Capterra UK showed 3.9 from 150 reviews and Trustpilot UK 3.9 from 37 for simpro.co.uk. Tradify, Commusoft and Powered Now all score higher on Capterra UK.
  • Australian head office. There is a UK office, but its address is not on the pages we checked, and the only phone number on the UK pricing page was a +1 number.
  • Too much for small teams. The set-up effort only pays back with scale.

How much does simPRO cost?

simPRO's UK pricing page shows one plan and a list of add-ons, with no prices. Capterra lists it as "Custom Quote", per user per month.

simPRO Base Plan and add-ons, checked 12 Oct 2026
ItemPriceWhat it does
Base PlanQuote onlyQuoting and estimating, field and contractor scheduling, inventory and purchasing, field operations, invoicing and payments, accounting and finance, reporting, multi-company, 3 data feeds
Digital FormsQuote onlyCustom mobile forms for engineers, with conditional logic
Data FeedQuote onlyReads emails and attachments to create or update jobs and quotes
Maintenance PlannerQuote onlySchedules preventive maintenance for customer assets
TakeoffsQuote onlyCounts symbols and marks up plans for quotes and tenders
SimtracQuote onlyGPS fleet tracking and driver reports
SMSQuote onlyTexts between office, engineers, contractors and customers
VoIPQuote onlyListed by name only

Because no figures are published, we will not guess one. Any £ price you see quoted for simPRO elsewhere should be treated with caution unless it comes from a written quote. When you ask for one, request the full first-year cost: Base Plan users, every add-on you need, implementation and training, and the contract length.

Tip: digital forms and maintenance planning are add-ons, not part of the Base Plan. If certificates or planned maintenance are central to your work, make sure they are in the quote, or compare with Joblogic, which publishes a starting price of £45 per user per month billed annually.

simPRO features in detail

Project and service jobs

simPRO handles both long project jobs and short service jobs, with field and contractor scheduling. Subcontractors can be scheduled alongside your own engineers.

Estimating

Quoting and estimating are in the Base Plan, and Takeoffs adds plan mark-up and symbol counting for tenders. Data Feed can turn incoming emails and attachments into jobs or quotes, which helps firms that receive work orders by email from facilities clients.

Stock and assets

Inventory management and purchasing are built in. The Maintenance Planner add-on schedules preventive maintenance for customer assets, which matters for fire, security, lift and HVAC contractors with service agreements.

Reporting

Reporting and business intelligence are in the Base Plan. For larger firms, knowing which jobs and engineers make money is often the main reason to move up from a simple app.

Simpro Group and BigChange

Simpro Group bought the Leeds-based BigChange on 25 October 2024. The group also owns AroFlo and ClockShark. BigChange is still sold separately, with its own "request pricing" page, and is strongest on fleet and vehicle tracking. For UK buyers, the deal means two of the larger systems you might shortlist now share an owner, so it is worth asking each how its product roadmap will be kept separate.

What do users say about simPRO?

These are third-party scores, not our own rating. We do not average them.

simPRO third-party ratings, checked 12 Oct 2026
PlatformScoreReviewsChecked
Capterra UK3.9 out of 515012 Oct 2026
Trustpilot UK (simpro.co.uk)3.9 out of 53712 Oct 2026
G24.1 out of 548312 Oct 2026
App Store (UK), Simpro Mobile4.5 out of 5176 ratings12 Oct 2026
Google PlayNot confirmedn/aWe could not confirm a score

The simprogroup.com profile on Trustpilot had no reviews when we checked. The pattern here is the reverse of Joblogic: the mobile app is rated well on the App Store, while Capterra and Trustpilot scores are more mixed. G2 has the largest sample (483 reviews) and sits in between.

Read the scores with their samples in mind. 37 Trustpilot reviews is a small sample for a system with 250,000+ users claimed, and Capterra UK reviews tend to reflect the people who bought the system. Before you sign, ask simPRO for two UK reference customers of your size and trade, and call them.

simPRO vs ServiceM8: which should you choose?

People often compare the two because both are Australian. They suit very different firms.

simPRO vs ServiceM8. Prices checked 12 Oct 2026
simPROServiceM8
UK priceQuote onlyFree (30 jobs a month), then £25 to £269 a month by job count (VAT treatment not stated on the pricing page)
UsersPer user (Capterra)Unlimited users on paid plans
Best forLarger contractors with projects, stock and estimatingSole traders to mid-size service teams
Estimating from plansYes (Takeoffs add-on)No
AccountingQuickBooks, Xero, Sage, MYOBXero, QuickBooks (no Sage found)
Capterra UK3.9 (150)4.5 (311)
App Store (UK)4.5 (176)4.5 (1.2k)

If you are a service business with a few engineers and lots of short jobs, ServiceM8 is cheaper, faster to start and better reviewed. Read our ServiceM8 review for the detail. If you price installs from drawings, hold stock across sites and need group-level reporting, simPRO is the one built for that.

simPRO pros and cons

Pros

  • Handles project and service jobs in one system
  • Estimating, plus Takeoffs for pricing from drawings
  • Inventory and purchasing built into the Base Plan
  • QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and MYOB
  • Simpro Mobile rated 4.5 from 176 ratings on the UK App Store (checked 12 Oct 2026)
  • Large, established group (founded 2002, 250,000+ users claimed)

Cons

  • No published prices, quote only
  • Trial, contract and setup costs not stated
  • Forms, maintenance planner and fleet tracking are paid add-ons
  • No named UK EICR or CP12 certificates found
  • Capterra UK 3.9 from 150 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
  • Australian head office; UK address not published

Who is simPRO best for?

simPRO fit by trade and team size
You are...FitWhy
Electrical or HVAC contractor, 15+ staff, projects and serviceStrongEstimating, takeoffs, stock and reporting
Fire, security, lifts or solar contractorGoodListed target trades; Maintenance Planner for service agreements
Multi-company contracting groupGoodMulti-company compatible Base Plan
Compliance-led maintenance contractorFairJoblogic publishes a price and is more focused on PPM
Domestic plumber, electrician or small teamWeakServiceM8 or Tradify are simpler and publish prices

What are the best alternatives to simPRO?

Best for planned maintenance and compliance

Joblogic

From £45 per user per month, billed annually

A Birmingham-based system for PPM, assets and compliance certificates, with a published starting price. Most customers sign 24 or 36 month contracts, and its iPhone app scores just 1.8 from 201 ratings.

Read our Joblogic review

Best value and best free plan

ServiceM8

Free for 30 jobs a month, then from £25 a month

Priced by jobs, not users, so a team can grow without the bill rising per head. Ideal for service firms that do not need project estimating or deep stock control.

  • Unlimited users on paid plans
  • Capterra UK 4.5 from 311 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026)
  • Generic PDF certificates, no Sage link found

Try ServiceM8 free (Ad) Read our ServiceM8 review

Fleet-heavy UK firms

BigChange

Quote only

Leeds-based and now part of Simpro Group. Strong on vehicle tracking and job scheduling for facilities, drainage, utilities and fire and security firms. Trustpilot UK showed 3.4 from 147 reviews (checked 12 Oct 2026).

See BigChange pricing options

Our field service management software guide compares simPRO, BigChange, Joblogic, Commusoft and the other larger systems side by side.

Frequently asked questions

How much does simPRO cost?

simPRO does not publish prices. Its UK pricing page shows one Base Plan and a list of paid add-ons, with a 'Request Pricing' button only. Capterra says pricing is per user, billed monthly or annually, but gives no figure. We found no reliable UK £ price, so budget for a sales quote.

Is simPRO worth it?

For a larger contractor running both projects and service work across several trades, with an office team to set it up, it can be. For a small domestic trade team, no: you would pay for estimating, stock and reporting depth you will not use. ServiceM8 or Tradify are simpler and publish prices.

Who owns simPRO and BigChange?

Simpro Group, based in Brisbane, Australia, owns simPRO. It bought the Leeds-based BigChange on 25 October 2024, and also owns AroFlo and ClockShark. BigChange is still sold as its own product, with its own pricing page.

simPRO vs ServiceM8: which is better?

They target different firms. ServiceM8 publishes prices from free to £269 a month by job count with unlimited users, and suits small to mid-size service teams. simPRO is quote only and built for larger contractors who need estimating from plans, stock, purchasing and project tracking. Pick by the size and type of work, not features alone.

Does simPRO work with Xero and Sage?

Yes. simPRO's UK pricing page lists QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and MYOB integrations. Its Base Plan also includes accounting and finance features and three data feeds. Sage support is useful for larger UK firms whose finance teams will not move away from it.

Does simPRO have a free trial?

The UK pricing page does not mention a free trial, a setup fee or contract terms. It lists custom training and implementation, and professional services, as support items without prices. Ask for all of these in writing with your quote.

Sources and checks

Prices, features and ratings were checked on 12 October 2026 against these sources. Software prices change often, so confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.

  1. Simpro UK pricing page
  2. Simpro UK about us
  3. Simpro Group company page
  4. BigChange: Simpro Group acquires BigChange Q and A
  5. Simpro on Wikipedia
  6. Simpro on Capterra UK
  7. Simpro pricing on Capterra
  8. Simpro on Trustpilot UK (simpro.co.uk)
  9. Simpro on G2
  10. Simpro Mobile on the App Store (GB)
  11. ServiceM8 UK pricing page
  12. Joblogic pricing page
  13. BigChange pricing page